our tv hosts and especially morning show hosts have said goodbye to duppatta. too much make-up and non-stop chattering make them look like 'madari' or clown. they show no dignity or decency. why can't they behave decently?
PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues
women on tv
(76 posts)-
Posted 10 months ago on 22 Jul 2011 22:09 #
That's a good Q
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 7:35 # -
ifra
that's very important issue and I was of the view that may be people have taken it as a norm.I glad you raised this issue.Jasmine, mehar bukhari are the first and now you can see a whole lot, a programme "adhi rat tak" on express, I saw couple of times and never saw its host waering dupatta.
Problem arises when we said Womne are equal to men totally negating what allah told us, that women are tender and man must take a very gentle care of their women.
But it seems that just blind following of west is waht we all think as development and progresive attitue.Burai aam hu jaey tu riwaj banjati hay
most of the women I know personnaly who exel is their professional life respect the dress codePosted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 7:44 # -
@Ajhons
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 7:53 # -
@Scandinavian Bhai
Thanks for posting a very relevant video Very timely remembrance.But still we love to follow what we are not designed for.Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 8:28 # -
Just check this new development in dancing in Lahore at marriages among families.I feel pitty for the lahorians in such developments of evil.This type of dancing requires much group practice before performance.
Kia yahi Lahore hy.Agar yahi hy tho,
THO JIS NE LAHORE KI SHITANIYAT NAHI DEKHI WO PAIDA HI NAHI HUA.....Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 8:48 # -
@Sufisoul
No need to malign a whole city. Lahore is not a village or minor city so you will find all kind of people in a city like Lahore. I believe most people dislike the acts shown in the video!
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 9:01 # -
scandinavian hazrat,
Maulana Atta Ullah Shah bukhari RA have said that i was with my Shiekh at a fruit shop in Lahore and my Shiekh was searching for fruits.Suddenly he told me that in this city majority are animals and he told me to look back.
I just turned my neck and looked back toward` the roads and saw nothing but different types of animals going their and here..I surprised and asked my Shiekh,no human i can see here NOW.Shiekh told me ALLAH SWT kept my words and you have shown the people in their REAL SHAPE....(This was time during 50's)...Now you can imagine....NO one can claim that MAJORITY are good people in LAHORE.And majority is quoted not minority in discussions.
Shaitaniyat is the PROUD CULTURE of LAHORE.No doubt about it......Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 9:31 # -
Woman is now lessen to being a showpiece in TV programs/films/sex scenes/commercial institutions. She is now an article of entertainment for men. Now she alleviates the tiredness of tired minds and bodies...... All this is happening in the name of freedom---- in the name of liberty......
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 10:10 # -
If the issue is confined to not following our cultural norms then perhaps one can make a point.
The other thing is why limit our concern for those women who appear only on tv and other media. What about our surroundings?
What makes a women wearing dupatta and applying no or less make-up any better then the one who doesn’t wear dupatta?
Why not talk about men in our society, their actions that force women to follow certain norms but give men all sort of freedom to do what they please, be it wearing certain outfit or making laws for women? Men in our society have one view point for their women but totally a different perspective for other women.
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 13:34 # -
Agreed hypocrite, brother you do have not one but many points that should be adressed. But How?
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 13:43 # -
Mirza sahib
Salam,
One solution is that the men shall have some control on their feelings. Secondly we shall try to come out of this hypocrisy that by being behind a veil makes someone more or less pious or virtuous.
Was our society less or more evil before 1977 when it was not a must for women to wear dupatta or for men to wear shalwar kameez. All of a sudden one day it dawned on us that the standard to measure our piousness is shalwar kameez and dupatta.
I think we focus on superficial or visible wounds or faults only. First we shall establish the problem and if really there is a problem. Then we shall find the root cause of the problem and not the immediate cause of the problem.
I am sure many more educated and intellectual friends then I am , on this forum can shed more light and disucss this matter objectively.
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 14:06 # -
Brother, you are right. I do understand that sari and bindi should have been exempt for this legislation in accordance to our Quaid Mohammed Ali Jinnah sayings.
Your mention of 1977 is indicative of Bhutto's hanging. Was bhutto a saint, he was not, and left nothing but footprints to legtimize his hanging because he never...was found innocent!A few hours before his hanging, the timing at question, is no excuse. He was hung based on solid reasons that remain unchallenged till date. Bhutto misused his powers by attempting to bring down the most vocal of the Kasuris. Instead his father was murdered? Why?
Again you are right. Men should have control on their feelings. True but how? Do we have ways to control our men?
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 14:23 # -
My personal standing is that i would like women to cover themselves but also another important issue in our society is that just because women do not wear the scarf that should not mean men constantly stairing at them. Men should also lower they gaze but unfortunately this is not emphasized as much as women wearing the scarf is.
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 14:41 # -
Mirza sahib
The reference to 1977 was becuase Late Zia introduced the concept of all women wearing dupatta. Bhutto is a separate discussion.
As far as controlling men is concnered, let me start from myself first. Atleast this is within my control, if I cannot control others.
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 14:50 # -
@Aftab
Men staring is very common and it should be strongly condemned!
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 15:39 # -
I don’t know about others but let me be honest and admit that the first thought that comes to my mind when I see a fellow female colleague working in my office or a female traveling for work is that I can flirt with these females. I consider them to be weak, submissive and of weak character.
When I see someone clad in a chaddar or having a veil or a burqa, I start fantasizing about what is behind the burqa or chaddar.
However I think the women in my own house are very pious and I keep on giving sermons about how the women are making a mockery of the morality in the society.
Hence I am a hypocrite but honestly it is a shameful thing and only depicts my own low morality.
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 15:47 # -
I think it should be up to the female to wear a dubata or not, just as it is up to males to wear a cap or not, grow a beard or not.
There mustn't be any discrimination.
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 17:13 # -
I dont dislike Morning Show primarily because the show hosts dont wear dupatta but because they have become so boring with the repetitive selection of same old subjects,themes of the show which you will find on every other channel and in their shows...very very few of them bring quality in discussion and in selection of guests....
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 17:32 # -
@Sufisoul
Before even critisizing a whole city and its inhabitants first tell me is Pakistan really an "Islamic Republic of Pakistan"?....
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 17:38 # -
Sufisoil,
What you have seen in Lahore, I have seen in other city of Pakistan.Naam nahi loon ga warna wo log naraz ho jatai hain.
The point is that this menace is everywhere. We need to cleanse ourselves.
Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 18:33 # -
No matter how much a women think herself free, the fact is that more they try to get equal (stupidly) to men more they become a tool for them.
Self exposure is not freedom, getting equal rights and justice is freedom.Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 22:58 # -
I am critising here LAHORI SOCH.
I never seen a majority, PROUD over SHAITANIYAT CULTURE.
This IMTIYAZI SHAN belongs to LAHORE ONLY.They are committed to improve and work for this culture through all the means and wanted to spread it All Around.
Bench mark is, that INITIATOR is LAHORE only, of SHAITAN CULTURE latter definitly it may spread all over the pakistan.
HUB is in LAHORE and majority is responsible for such acts.
Further i may say that FILM INDUSTRY/DRAMA THEATERS are the Inspiration.
FILM AND DRAMAS needs new SHAITANIC IDEAS for their growth all the time and sorroundings are obviously effected with this CREATION..Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 23:18 # -
A very mulla-mentality thread.
There is nothing wrong with lahore or its weddings. Music isnt haraam and not a single Mulla has been able to 'prove' it yet. Yes some wedding dances are vulgar and should not be promoted. Aisam's dance was not vulgar at all and only a mulla can get offended by it.
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 9:17 # -
sherwani,
what is vulgarity according to you???If i say wether you would allow your girl to take part with aisam hand to hand dance.What would be your reaction.????
The girl dancing was not a sister of anyone...PROUD SHAITANIC CULTURE LEADS THIS WAY,JUST CHECK,
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/jul2011-daily/24-07-2011/u76832.htm
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 10:27 # -
@ SufiSoul,
How do you know if she was a sister or not? How can you be so judgemental about anyone? Its only GOD who can judge us and your judgements and ready-made fatwas carry no importance to us.
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 13:52 # -
"How do you know if she was a sister or not"
lolzPosted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 14:48 # -
Sufi sahib
Lets not target one city as it is not fair. Just because of lollywood being in Lahore, Lahore cannot be labelled as initiator of Statnic culture. People do say about all sort of cinema houses in Peshawar and all other cities of Pakistan.
I think we as mortal human beings get tempted and unless we can control our temptation we cannot blame women for luring us towards doing wrong things. Even if they or these initiators of statnic cluture lure us what is stopping me to control myself.
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 14:59 # -
dance and music may be (gunahe sagheera) a minor sin, , not a crime, it does not harm humanity or any individual. Even drinking wines is not ac rime against humanity,it is an act of individual, harming his health not public at large.
Whereas, target killing in Karachi by clean shaved Taliban and terrorism & suicide attacks by beard Taliban of North , is (GUNAHE KABIRA) a dangerous crime against humanity .
wearing dupatta or not, is a very minor issue, whereas, killings in Karachi and suicides attacks are very serious matter harming our nation.
We should not discuss non issues i.e DUPPATTA etc.
Actual issue is killings, explosions, corruption, economy.Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 16:38 # -
@2011pakistan: ^^
Could you please shed some light on your new scientific discovery on correctional between the dance and music in Lahore and its aftereffects in Islam vs. the target/mass killings in Karachi.
Walahi.. stupidity never cease to amaze ummah:)
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 17:23 # -
The easiest target these days is a "woman"...first establish a true islamic state then demand and expect anything like you are expecting from Lahore or any other city...
@2011pakistan
Drinking is prohibited and the after effects have been discussed in detail in Holy Books...it surely is something that affects not just the person but his surroundings...kindly update yourself...
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 17:35 # -
Agreed RhyMe, One hundred percent.
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 19:25 # -
Holy Qur'an clearly explains that murder of one individual means murder of whole humanity.
some people above have struck up with Dupatta.
you mean that the women not wearing dupatta are bad whereas, the women in Burqa are always of high moral character.
You know, most of the loose character girls in small cities use Burqa to cover their datings etc
Having Dupatta and burqa or not ,do not mean good character or bad.
I mean there are other current crisis in our country which are more serious in nature than Dupatta.
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 19:27 # -
:o)
Topic of the thread should have been:
"Lahore - Aur bigarta hua ikhlaq"I did not know that Lahore is the ONLY city in Pakistan which has all sort of moral degradation. Thanks people for sharing your knowledge with me.
I shall contact some property agent in other cities of angels and saints to get shifted there.
:o)
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 19:31 # -
@2011 pakistan
No body is denying what you say. But women on tv is what we talk about and I believe you do have some valid points...just to be explained and for that we are all ears.Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 19:34 # -
duppatta does not mean just a piece of cloth it reflects your values. when you dress in a specific way you are bound to behave or act in a certain manner accordingly. nothing is value free. when we criticize without duppatta appearance on tv we in fact are criticizing the whole mindset of negating certain norms of modesty and decency. why girls have to behave and dress up like this knowing that duppata it a significant part of shalwar kameez , just to be acceptable among certain groups. what would say if men shorten their trousers or wear sleeveless coats and say who are you to point us we are free to do what we want. do you expect from men dressed like this anything sober or rational. nahien na! same is the case with women when they dress up immodestly they are automatically taken as 'liberal'. and expected to cross those limits which people feel that modestly dressed up girl would not.and it is also true that appearance dictates behaviours. men with pony tail and bermudas also fall in the same category. mostly men feel the same kind of disgust as women feel about those 'liberal' khawateen. won't you agree?
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 21:43 # -
@ifra
You have laid it down for us as an extremely well explained solution to a sensitive issue. Thanks a lot brother.Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 21:51 # -
@ifra Very well explained indeed.
The people in the videos below given the same reasoning when asked.
Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 22:54 # -
sherwani,
You skipped many questions of mine here.Find courage and pls answer.
This is good that will never allow your sister/doughter to have a part of such dance.Appreciated.
But why you are giving favour to others to go with such vulgarity.???????
Dancing hand to hand with other's sister or with ones own sister is vulgarity and shaitaniyyat culture.
LAHORI SOCH is behind all this.Which needs to be condemned here.
Any city's majority should not actively work to promote proudly and loudly shaitanic culture.otherwise they must be criticised here.
Pakistani culture needs to be promoted which is sober and within certain Islamic said boundries.
This is not Pakistani culture at all..2011,
Killing people evry where and by anyone needs to be condemned.I condemned suchacts by any side..
You need to condemned shaitani culture and shaitani soch of majority of the LAHORIS and needs to bring it within certain regulations.
Like Punjab Govt many times BANNED DANCING in DRAMAS.
This Stupid Aisam needs to be charged with vulgarity and with some delicate chitrol.Posted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 0:44 # -
LifeH2O,
Wearing such dresse and standing on the roads by any girl is automatically an invitation to others.
Pakistanis are clever enough to JUDGE wether she is SHAREEF ZADI or not.
Shareef ZADI standing over road will never be faced such a situation..
Women needs to control herself within certain limits.
Women are ordered to go under proper dress.Men is not ordered for HIJAB...
AURAT TIGHT JEANS ME PHERTI RAHY AUR MARD ANKHAIN BAND KER LAIN.ZARA YE LOGIC CHECK KERNA....lolzzz
YE HUM SIRF APNY APP KO CHEAT KER RAHAIN HAIN......lolzzzzzPosted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 0:58 # -
i do not favour vulgar culture but the fact is that where women are restricted in society there homosexual culture is common.
Lahore , Islamabad and Karachi culture is to some extend same as image prevailing but what about unnatural habits prevailing in KPK and Baluchistan culture ?
a woman in burqa walking on DHA markets in Lahore, Karachi, Islamabad looks odd whereas a woman with tight jeans in KPK or Baluchistan roads looks odd.
A woman with burqa in London streets looks very odd and people will start looking her but a woman with burqa in Peshawar streets will not be looking odd.
Posted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 6:16 # -
Lahore , Islamabad and Karachi culture is to some extend same as image prevailing but what about unnatural habits prevailing in KPK and Baluchistan culture ?
a woman in burqa walking on DHA markets in Lahore, Karachi, Islamabad looks odd whereas a woman with tight jeans in KPK or Baluchistan roads looks odd
///////////////////////////////////////////
1.Evil is evil every where,in Lahore and KPK.
But how evil is promted by Lahoris is actually needs to be condemned..
If london streets or Lahore DHA market is BENCH MARK for you to live a Life than its very deplorable FAITH at your side..
MUSLIM'S bench mark is not streets but GOD sended rules & regulations..
You have to come out of STREETS/MARKET thinkings if you are to go with a sober/safe/decent women Life..
What about MIX NAKED WALK in LONDON streets.????regards,
Posted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 6:44 # -
i do not favour vulgar culture but the fact is that where women are restricted in society there homosexual culture is common.
//////////////////////////
Just check your logic here.You want give free hand to men,women sex on the grounds of homosexuality..This is a real joke.
FYI call boys homosexual culture is common in Punjab and Islamabad now..pls wake up.Posted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 6:50 # -
I do not favour vulgar culture ..
//////////////////////////////////
You are wholeheartedly giving Illogical logics over vulgur lahore culture.But will never condemned vulgure proud lahori culture.....Posted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 6:55 # -
"LAHORI SOCH is behind all this.Which needs to be condemned here.
Any city's majority should not actively work to promote proudly and loudly shaitanic culture.otherwise they must be criticised here."Would you care to elaborate how you reached to this conclusion that city's majority is actively promoting proudly?
Really Sufisoul I had good opinion about you but am forced to revise it upon seeing your wise comments about whole city.
Posted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 17:56 # -
lolz@Lahori Soch...kabhi shetani soch kabhi lahori soch...
SufiSoul you presented your case so badly by attacking only a particular place and ppl of Pakistan....
Posted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 19:01 # -
She is now an article of entertainment for men.
Wasnt that the purpose of her creation ?
Though it was strictly for her father, brother and husband.
But when you put something for public viewing/pleasure then you cant complain of being used over and over again.
It completely fails the point of being public right ?
Posted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 19:25 # -
After my 2nd comment on this site some months back a member advice me to ignore "SufiSoul".I don't remember the name of that member but want to say Thank you for that golden advice.
Posted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 22:50 # -
osaka,
lolzz.
Going with the stream never remained a pleasant approach to me.Whenever majority of the people accepted my opinion that day i will think that NOW i am missguided and will revise my whole faith.
Our majority of Pakistanis are Under various types of Azaabz so who wise will wish to be acceptable for the majority.????
Your confirmation is like a cool breeze for me and definitly i need such words from time to time it gives me great pleasure.Alhamdullilah.Posted 10 months ago on 25 Jul 2011 23:59 # -
osak,raavi,ryhme..
Thank You making a difference between me and you.....Alhamdulillah.Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 0:06 #