PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

women on tv

(76 posts)
  1. sasherwani

@ SufiSoul,

You do not possess the mindset or the cognitive ability to understand my points so its 100% useless to argue with you. You have drowned completely in a pool of narcassit mulla version of Islam that ridicules and opposes everything that doesn't go their way. The aim of these mullas isn't betterment of the society or chalking out a course of action to promote Islam. The aim of these mullas is to make some quick money using some student mulla goons and focusing on non-issues and leaving out the real issues that are hurting the muslim community.
    Whatever Aisam did on his engagement is his basket of deeds and only God can decide if he should be punished or forgiven for his actions. Those who do not like his actions have no right to be judgemental towards him. Aisam is a national hero and whatever he has done for pakistan in the tennis world far exceeds a 3 minute dance routine he performed on his wedding. He isnt the shaytaan, its your Mulla brigade that is the shaytaan and has no sharam ridiculing someone's actions which is no business of theirs to poke their dirty noses in. Please ask your team to get a life and focus on real issues instead of spreading this shaytaan/kaafir/haraam fatwas all around.

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 8:25 #
  2. scandinavian

I remember when Aisam stood up for Pakistan and did speak for all of us. So if he has committed a sin then he has also done a lot of good deeds! No need to declare him as a shaytaan!

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 8:32 #
  3. he he he
    ifra baji,
    good topic.
    bhai logon,
    hum kabhi bhi balance nahi ho saktay halankay balance is the key for success.

aik waqat tha kay Nazia Hassan apnay sagaye bhai kay sath gana ga rahi hay ,full sleeves wali qameez aur full size duppatta pehan kay.
    aap ko uss pe iteraaz ho raha hay
    hukumat e waqat (Zia) ne Nazia Zoheb pe ban laga diya.

ban khula tou iss sharat pe kay Nazia ki sirf head and neck dikhaya jaye.
    not a full shot.

phir dramon se lay kay news tak sub larkiyan sar pe duppatta pehnein.
    agar darya mein dobnay ka scene hay tou uss mein bhi heroine duppatta sambhaltay hoye pani mein dobaye.

another extreme :
    kon kis kay sath nach raha hay?kion nach raha hay?
    kaisay nach raha hay ?
    dont worry.
    just start dancing and make a video to run on Tv.

duppatta heroine to heroine usski amma ka bhi ghayeb.
    Tv anchor khawateeen suit boot pehn kay
    bina duppatta

wahh kiya extreme hay.

kiya hum kabhi balance nahi kar saktay kisi cheez mein?

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 8:39 #
  4. SufiSoul

@sherwani,
    But you missed my point.
    AAP APNY GHAR K LIYE KIA PASAND KERTY HO.????

Mulla Ki soch,
    /////////////////
    Alcohol,mix dancing,are forbidden in Religion.Why you like such things for others but not for your family ,under Lahori Soch/Culture powered by Shaitan....

isn't betterment of the society,
    ////////////////
    So why not you are ready to implement such betterment,starting from your own home rather defending others.????

and leaving out the real issues .???
    ////////////////////
    You are blind towards bases for real issues.Try to learn why we caught up in such big problems.Buy some wisdom pls.

only God can decide .
    ///////////////////
    This is old Heela to safegurd shaitani culture .search for some new one...

Aisam national hero,
    ////////////////////
    He is selling his talent and increasing his bank account due to Pakistan.. HOSH ME AWO.
    we are not impressing by political words like,pakistan ka naam roshan kia hy and bla bla bla..Such words are only used to make just commentry which you did...

Lahori soch was addressed and called Shaitanic SOCH i-e Alcohol,Dancing,womensers etc culture and not Pakistani culture....

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 16:20 #
  5. jabalultariq

There is and will always be a tug of war among traditionalists and liberals or among moralists and immorals......there is a fine book oin the topic - Jihad vs. McMedia ......

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 4:00 #
  6. scandinavian

What about this woman?

- She wears a dupatta...almost
    - Shaking hands with men. Is it all right?

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 9:50 #
  7. gv

The horror the horror!!!!!!

have her flogged !!!! throw her in irons and have her electrocuted - no no wait electricity is a wicked invention of the satanic west as are handshakes!!!!!

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:05 #
  8. scandinavian

@gv

Don't act like baby. Nobody is talking about flogging the representative of PAK government.

You need to understand that we belong to a different culture than represented on this picture. PAK representatives also need to show that.

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:19 #
  9. gv

@scandi

why dont you go for a walk around rural punjab or sindh for that matter and let me know how many women you find covering their faces.... and then talk about 'our' culture

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:28 #
  10. scandinavian

@gv

Where did you get any statement from me re. covering faces?

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:32 #
  11. gv

ok so what's wrong with the picture then? the handshake?

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:34 #
  12. shafiq12

gv--

wrong with the picture then? the handshake?

See, the emotions of clown, his face will tell you what's wrong-- Don't ignore your nature while shaking hand with opposite sex--- It is nature of wise to resist pleasures only fool to slave them....

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:43 #
  13. scandinavian

That woman stands for many ill doings f.ex.:

1 - She joined Musharraf.....i.e. Opportunism
    2 - The she joined Zardari...i.e. Opportunism
    3 - She is not upholding Pakistani/Muslim traditions by shaking hands with a man. We need not to imitate all Western ideas! take what is suitable and reject what doesn't suit local traditions/Muslim values.

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:45 #
  14. Hina Rabbani k baray mein kuch bhi Kaha jaiy kum hay. Hina Rabani Khar shiba .. Kabhi Qazi Hussain Ahmad say bhi haath mila liya karein. :)
    http://www.dailymashriq.com.pk/sunday%20mag/mag1.htm
    http://img.khabraingroup.com/MainNews/l6_pic.jpg

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:52 #
  15. gv

well i dont know about you lot but im pretty certain i don't derive any illicit pleasure from shaking hands wih girls... but of course to each his own little fetish.....

why does IK wear a suit or western sports gear when he is abroad ?? why does he shake hands with women in an outside country?

whats good for the goose is good for the gander my friend..

dont be a hypocrite..

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:53 #
  16. scandinavian

@gv

No, I don't want IK to shake hands with women, so no hypocrisy on my part.

Clothing is another issue. There is no harm in having any of clothes (men or women) as long as Muslim traditions are upheld.

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:56 #
  17. scandinavian

Nothing can change that all what she stands for anti-PK and anti-Muslim! She belongs to a wadera system and is not an appropriate representative for us!

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 11:58 #
  18. gv

Nothing can change that all what she stands for anti-PK and anti-Muslim! She belongs to a wadera system and is not an appropriate representative for us!

Thats an entirely different matter.

I have no objection to her attire or her shaking hands if that is what is required of a diplomat in the modern world and if she is comfortable with it.

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 12:03 #
  19. scandinavian

"I have no objection to her attire or her shaking hands if that is what is required of a diplomat in the modern world and if she is comfortable with it."

It is exactly here we have our difference. Your stand is the above mentioned i.e. change yourself as required by the "international requirements".

I say only change - if required - and if it is according to Muslim values. We should set our own standards and not imitate blindly!

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 12:16 #
  20. gv

@scandi

if she wasnt comfortable with it - i would support her right to not want to shake anyones hand..

if she is comfortable with it no one else should have an isssue with what is a universal custom

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 12:26 #
  21. scandinavian

@gv

"if she is comfortable with it no one else should have an isssue with what is a universal custom"

No, it's not a universal custom! Most Muslims DON'T shake hands with women!

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 12:35 #
  22. scandinavian

And this is what this lady has been successful in i.e. highlighting her looks and dress. I hope it can pave the way for a "fruitful" dialogue :o

Maybe PPP should consider to send Meera next time :(

Delhi gushes over new Pakistani minister
    By AFP
    Published: July 27, 2011

Indian Foreign Minister S. M. Krishna (L) walks with his Pakistani counterpart Hina Rabbani Khar (R) prior to a meeting in New Delhi on July 27, 2011.
    NEW DELHI: Pakistan’s new 34-year-old female foreign minister has won instant fans in India where a flurry of flattering headlines Wednesday greeted her first trip to the country
    (Read: Talks in New Delhi)
    Hina Rabbani Khar appeared to have had an instant impact on one of the world’s most tense bilateral relations, with her photo adorning the front pages of most Indian newspapers amid high interest in her arrival.”Pak Puts On Its Best Face,” noted The Times of India, the biggest-selling English-language daily, while mass circulation Hindi newspaper Navbharat Times said India was “sweating over model-like minister.”
    “Pak bomb lands in India,” joked the Mumbai Mirror tabloid in a tongue-in-cheek reference to the history of wars between the countries and attacks by Pakistani militant groups on Indian soil.
    In a rarity for the Indian media, not known for assessing the dress-sense of previous Pakistani visitors, the Mail Today tabloid devoted extensive space to her choice of outfit as she flew in to New Delhi airport on Tuesday.
    “The 34-year-old minister scored full marks on the fashion front when she was spotted at the Delhi airport in a monotone outfit of blue — the colour of the season,” it said.
    “Tasteful accessories — Roberto Cavalli sunglasses, oversized Hermes Birkin bag and classic pearl jewellery — added a hint of glamour to her look,” it added.
    The Telegraph newspaper meanwhile compared fresh-faced Khar, a married mother of two who caused a stir at home after being photographed in tight jeans, with her elderly counterpart SM Krishna.
    “In the unkind world of adjectives, the odds are stacked against SMK and in favour of HRK,” it said, using the ministers’ initials.
    “Khar carries with ease descriptions such as ‘stunning’ and ‘petite’.
    “Krishna, a 79-year-old who takes great pride in his tailored suits, might face a tough job attracting attention later Wednesday when the two pose for photographs at the start of their talks.
    “All eyes on glamorous Pak minister,” said the Rediff website. “She is clearly being looked at as a perfect combination of beauty and brains.”
    The Indian Twittersphere was also ablaze with commentary on the Pakistani envoy, who has taken over from Shah Mehmood Qureshi who drew criticism in the Indian media over his strong language last time he met Krishna.
    Journalist and author Seema Goswami saw a link between the monsoonal downpour that struck the Indian capital Wednesday morning and the generally fawning coverage of Khar.
    “Even the Delhi skies are drooling,” she wrote.
    In Pakistan, headscarf-wearing Khar has drawn inevitable comparisons to Benazir Bhutto, the charismatic female prime minister of Pakistan who was assassinated when trying to regain power in 2007.
    Like Bhutto, she comes from one of Pakistan’s leading political and land-owning families and her clan has extensive farms in Punjab, the richest and most populous province.
    The foreign ministers of the nuclear-armed niehgbours are holding their first talks in a year, looking to breathe fresh life into a peace process still stifled by the trauma of the 2008 Mumbai attacks.
    India suspended contacts with its arch-rival after the attacks and their peace dialogue has struggled to gain any real traction since its formal resumption earlier this year.
    Observers expect little to emerge from Wednesday’s meeting beyond some modest confidence-building measures connected to relatively uncontentious issues such as cross-border trade and people-to-people contacts.

Link: http://tribune.com.pk/story/218360/delhi-gushes-over-new-pakistani-minister/

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 12:48 #
  23. jabalultariq

like it or not dupatta culture was introduced by Gen. Zia and systematically removed by Gen. Mushy.......oh these fauji's .....they are everywhere....even culture !!!!

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 13:54 #
  24. Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 15:55 #
  25. scandinavian

@LH2O

Obviously Ahmedinejad is not a accustomed to the "universal" custom ;)

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 19:41 #
  26. Ahmedinejad is the man, he is the only living ruler in Muslim world who is afraid of others, and see he is not influenced be them.

Posted 10 months ago on 28 Jul 2011 11:15 #