PKPolitics Discuss » Sports BAR

World Cup 2011

(360 posts)
  1. Pakistan has announced it's team for the old cup dropping Muhammad yousuf & Tanveer Ahmed. Also ijaaz butt as usual thinking with his butt has refused to name the captain of Pakistani team as he is not happy with Afridi.
    What are your views in terms of who should open the batting and your 11 players who should be in the main eleven for Pakistan?

Squad: Shahid Afridi, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Kamran Akmal, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Abdur Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanveer, Ahmed Shahzad.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 20:25 #
  2. expakistani

on Sub cont pitches this look best team possible

1: Kamran Akmal
    2: M hafeez
    3: YK
    4: Misbah
    5: Umera Akmal
    6: Afridi
    7: Razaq
    8: Shoaib Akhter
    9: Umer Gul
    10: Abdul Rehman
    11:Sohail Tanveer

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 20:48 #
  3. I will have the same team and would replace shoaib with wahab on slow flat wickets.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 20:57 #
  4. Dusky

Only, only if they clear Mohd Amir, I would like to include him in 15 man squad. Other then that looks good.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 21:02 #
  5. Amir is out and so is Asif... I wish they let Amir go and I wouldnt mind Asif having a life time ban like Saleem Malik...

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jan 2011 2:50 #
  6. shirazi

If Pakistan wins today they may announce Misbah as captain. I 'd rather stick with Afridi. My bigger concern is how many matches 'd be day and night. I am in eastern time zone, and D/N games are the only games I can watch w/o sacrificing sleep too much.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jan 2011 2:58 #
  7. sasherwani

Afridi should be captain. Misbah hasnt captained us in any ODIs so he is too experienced to lead us in the WC. I wouldnt include Amer or Asif. Its better to have 11 average honest players than 8 average and 3 good but sell-out players.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jan 2011 5:36 #
  8. Group A

Australia
    New Zealand
    Pakistan
    Sri Lanka
    Zimbabwe
    Canada
    Kenya

Group B

Bangladesh
    England
    India
    South Africa
    West Indies
    Ireland
    Netherlands

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jan 2011 0:51 #
  9. expakistani

This time they have Qter final semi final and then Final...
    i hate this format..

best was 92 world cup format or one like T20 type
    supper six type

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jan 2011 2:34 #
  10. sasherwani

@ expakistani,

I agree, the super8 format is more exciting than the knockout quarterfinals format.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jan 2011 8:20 #
  11. ajhons

And what about the favourite of this worldcup.
    On realistic notes For me England/South Africa.Newzelanders got the ability to surpricse us
    As for my wish list its always "PAKISTAN"

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jan 2011 8:29 #
  12. asif65

does somebody know, what was the reason not to select Muhammad yousuf?

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jan 2011 9:25 #
  13. ajhons

Asif
    PCB said that he failed to show his fitness.Abdul Qadir said its right decision and the termed the squad as "Balanced one" while Rashid Latif termed it as gamble PCB played
    he asid "
    He is too good a player to be ignored for such a big event where experience and the ability to play the spinners well on turning tracks will matter a lot. Yousuf I think is one of the best players of spin and that is why he deserved a place in the final squad"

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jan 2011 9:36 #
  14. serial_kisser

Pakistan will lose any chance to win any game in worldcup matches if Misbah is made Captain. His approach is to defend the wickets, which may work for test but a complete failure in ODIs. Misbah is Miandad of new era. His approach is pretty much similar to Muhammad Yousuf's.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jan 2011 17:03 #
  15. There is no doubt that for 20:20 and ODI format Afridi is the best captain we have at the moment.
    Misbah is good but not good enough to be a winning captain in this format. If Afridi was in the 2nd test against the Kewi's, I think that we would have won the match. we needed runs less than 3.5 per over and despite one end covered by YK, Misbah played painfully slow. We had 6 wickets in hands and we drew a match? Unbelievable!

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jan 2011 17:26 #
  16. expakistani

@asif65
    Mo Yususf is unfit... and we cant have any unfit player in team even be MoYo or YK.

@KHAN_Sahib

there was 50 50 chance in 2nd test.... pata nhi aap ney match dekhy ya nhi but going for draw was a right option after YoKhan's wicket.
    Afridi is like "Daray ke Bandooq" kabhi chalti hey kabhi goli phans jati hey.
    but at the same time i will oppose bringing new captain .... go with Afridi and all other support him.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jan 2011 19:09 #
  17. @expakistani...

I meant before YK wicket.... Misbah should have played a bit faster....

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Jan 2011 19:29 #
  18. jaypk

ok ok...i know imran nazir is a kid..he has been given so many chances....and he ruined most of them..he is betetr thn imran farhat..he is better thn yasir hameed.....but still..i think..thr might be sumthin like a parchee..which he hasnt got.....cz ppl cum in and go out...but he had the talent...anyways...i d like to see him in the team..not this worldcup...but on a perm basis...the kid needs coaching on patience more thn batting..he has got natural talent..if you see his cover drives..you will feel...and also he was the best fielder we have..!

your views..?

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Jan 2011 0:45 #
  19. expakistani

I think we need on left hand batsman at 1st or 2nd down ...All of our guys are right hand batsman

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Jan 2011 1:50 #
  20. sasherwani

By the way Pakistan's 124 all out today in the first ODI against a very Halki team NZ.

I can only imagine what's about to happen in the WC.

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Jan 2011 4:47 #
  21. quaidkamazaar

dude its ok ^

there was too much swing early in the morning. and later on when Pakistan bowled, there was NO swing at all.

next 5 matches, Pakistan will bounce back. inshallah, with full conviction i can say that.

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Jan 2011 6:34 #
  22. I want Afridi to be captain...he's got the guts to lead the team especially in present hullabaloo...

also wasn't dropping an experienced player like Muhammad Yousaf,who has played in number of world cups before, a blunder?

Shoaib Akhtar,i can bet will only be able to play one or two matches and then will get misfit! or prolly they will use him only in crucial match like semi final or quarter final if only we get there!...anyway im still waiting to watch the coming World Cup next Month! Yey!

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Jan 2011 6:47 #
  23. expakistani

Misbah is going way to slow
    40+ strike rate

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:12 #
  24. toamin

due to his old age, he gets over cautious and forgets to play his natural game-

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:14 #
  25. expakistani

may be he wants pakistan to loose so he can be captain
    (:

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:22 #
  26. toamin

Misbah is killing the momentum of the inning, it may not hurt us in this match but down the road it will. He has a very negative approach towards batting, start slow, slowly build your inning and then hit your way out in the end. Works for him but not for team, you need someone like Mohammad Yousuf or Asad Shafiq who can keep ticking the scoreboard and build momentum

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:29 #
  27. Dusky

Salam.. are you following on cricinfo as well ;)

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:32 #
  28. Misbah ki B*ndh pey do teen laatain maar kay ODI or test mein faraq samjhana chahiye.

Perlay derjay ka derpok aadmi.

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:34 #
  29. toamin

Yes.. :(

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:34 #
  30. expakistani

now he is gone after 30 + dot balls... let see how UA and Razak going to take this windy situation

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:38 #
  31. LOL out ho gaya jungli..

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:38 #
  32. Dusky

he is gone after scoring 35 of 64.. but I say, that at least give some breathing space in middle order..

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:39 #
  33. expakistani

guys
    watch free ...eik dum acha match arha hey

http://www.teezcricket.com/

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:47 #
  34. toamin

thanks ex-pak, i am now watching, hopefully some fun part will start!

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:55 #
  35. toamin

اب حفیظ سینکڑا پورا کرکے کچھ ٹلےلگاے

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:57 #
  36. expakistani

Dammm no Sajida after 100, whats wrong with this Hafiz?

koi molvi wajeb ul katal na banwa dey

LOL

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 3:58 #
  37. this one is good too

http://crictime.com/server2.htm

LOL

Hafeez bach kjey rehna, verna Moulana Imzimam ul Haq Multani fatwa jari ker saktay hain...

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:05 #
  38. toamin

i think 275 looks plausible

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:07 #
  39. shirazi

That 'd need 10 an over and Razaaq is yet to come ... very much doable..

Is this a power play?

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:14 #
  40. toamin

59 scored in 4 overs...

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:17 #
  41. shirazi

Six on a paddle shot ... loving it :)

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:22 #
  42. Dusky

70 in third power play... good shooting:)

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:23 #
  43. shirazi

300 on .. 30 in last two.

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:27 #
  44. expakistani

Afrdi strike rate 263...
    loving it

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:27 #
  45. Getting to see Afridi on fire after a while...

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:28 #
  46. shirazi

wow ... 13 from last

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:32 #
  47. toamin

afridi out, but the damage has already been done!

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:34 #
  48. expakistani

logical as criketinfo put on

Start slow. Build a base. Then explode.....
    only part i would like building process little bit faster then what we have seen

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 4:43 #
  49. expakistani

Afridi and his fastest 50s

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/india/content/records/284095.html

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 6:44 #
  50. Does anyone elso find Kamran Akmal really annoying with his constant "Shubba Shubba"..

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Jan 2011 7:38 #