PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

Would you accept a fauji dictator if he eradicates corruption?

(72 posts)
  1. The first fauji claimed of stability and development. The second one was just an accident laden with lust. The third dictator promised a Nizam-e-Mustafa and last one promised to get rid of sham democracy.

I always wonder why these military dictators did not promise and fight against the corruption. A dictator does not have to worry about re-election. A dictator is armed with all kind of brute force. The answer came from a layman, “Had general Zia implemented a real Nizam-e-Mustafa, his own hands would have been chopped off first”.

Whenever a new dictator comes, we are easily fooled by his brand new or many time a recycled slogan. What if the next PMA graduate comes out with a new title of "Corruption Terminator" and lets assume he really clamps down the cancer of corruption, would you welcome him?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 14:44 #
  2. Did you notice where all the Champion Anchors at the Media and the Independent Judiciary is silent about the Wealth of Military Generals?
    There would be a long list of Billionaire Generals, including Hamid Gul, sitting in Islamabad and other parts of Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 14:52 #
  3. shriq

Dictators are not good for us!

The first thing a dictator does is using backdoor (or rather front door with force) which is start of corruption. To run the affairs of government he has to take the help of corrupt. This includes his core commanders, beaurocrats (to run day-to-day routine affairs), politicians (he needs some ministers), journalists (he needs some moral support for his shabkhoon on democracy). So all this support is availed by money, starting the new chapters in corruption.

So NO, dictators wont be able to curb corruption!!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 14:54 #
  4. New Pakistan

I agree with brothers javedsheikh and shriq absolutely. With all the experience we have with dictators, when did it work out for our benefit? Even the NRO was the invention of Musharraf! Actually, the best thing for us is to give the democratic process time to work. This is my true belief.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 15:07 #
  5. toamin

Eradicating corruption by the means of corruption? That is total nonsense!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 15:13 #
  6. ased

yaar tum log sirf apne mulk ki diktatership na dekho. Look at dikatatership in general. I think there can be a diktater who eradicat corruption, i will be on his side. I'm living in germany and also here are most of the citizen for democracy but they still not recognize that they just have a democratic act after 4 years and nothing else. But the dictatership don't give you any right to decide but it also didn't take any hidden rights away. You have to decide between individual rights or nation development. what i want to say is, that if a dictater or a prime minister erdicat corupption i will on their side.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 20:23 #
  7. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Answer: NO!

There is no Army man who has the credibility for the nation to trust them.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 20:29 #
  8. expakistani

I am even OK with Mulla Omer if he can just come and wipe out corrupt politicians, civil servants and generals with their families...

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 21:10 #
  9. shimatoree

Simple answer is an emphatic YES !

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 21:14 #
  10. zia m

Mulla Omer is ok with me.He can only come to power with the help of common man but big NO to Army Inc..

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 22:25 #
  11. qadirm

This eradiction of corruption has already been tried in Iran by khomeni and it failed misreably. My personal freedom is the most impotant issue for me. I was not born as a slave to anyone.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 22:48 #
  12. Anwer Kamal

It is democracy where this S.C. is passing these type of decisions otherwise do you remember one police man catches the hairs of this C.J. and put him in a car and again put him in house arrest for four months even no one was available to cut his hairs . ( But he was having hair color so he managed to dye them)
    This was party of President Zardari which freed them all .

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 22:59 #
  13. zia m

@qadirm
    Point taken.Corruption free slave society can't be anybody's envy.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 23:04 #
  14. qadirm

Dictatorship is a confidence con for delusional people.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 23:08 #
  15. New Pakistan

There is a famous political science question from univeristy.

What is the best form of government? It is benevolent and merciful dictator. What is the only problem with this form of government? It does not exist!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Dec 2009 23:57 #
  16. shimatoree

Quote- "Whenever a new dictator comes, we are easily fooled by his brand new or many time a recycled slogan."

OK but what about - Quote
    " when the politicians lie and promise everything-( a well known and well re cycled slogan)-, then come to power after fooling the people- and then go on a rampage of stealing from the country at random "

The current lot of this group of politicians have done this repeatedly and are doing it now as we comment here.

So if a Lycurgus came today-( like he did in 600 BC in Sparta) you would say no to him.

Or does anyone think that either Zardari or Nawaz Shareef or Qaid e Tehreek Altaf Hussain are not dictators-
    -( in their own parties).

So I would just like to make the point that we need a good person with intelligence and care- if he happens to become a dictator- as long as he is honest and ends corruption- the people of Pakistan will welcome him with hope for a better Pakaistan just like they welcomed-( fooled again)- the thieves and crooks who are in power now.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 1:37 #
  17. zia m

It is lot easier to get rid of corrupt politician than an oppressive dictator who can stay in power indefinitely with the help of armed forces.
    Absolute power corrupts absolutely.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 1:53 #
  18. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Any dictator who follows Islam, who follows the law of the land, who is loyal to his own people, who moves in the direction of good nature is the person who I will support.

I will only support a man of known credibility. He has to be loyal to Islam, loyal to his own people.

No other person is eligible to become pour leader

P.S. I will not! allow a person who makes deals in private, concealing facts from the populace to become our leader

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 2:50 #
  19. Bilal Tarar

this question is more like: would u eat pork if it made u healthy
    or...would one indulge in prostitution if it paid good money

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 9:50 #
  20. Musician

What if a person who meets your criteria is a Woman? Will you accept?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:03 #
  21. amirbutt

would you drink red wine if doctor said it is really good for your heart and you have a history of heart problems in your family?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:21 #
  22. toamin

Would you check permissibility from Allah SWT before doing it?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:25 #
  23. Musician

I still await your reply.

@amirbutt
    Who is the Doctor in this scenario?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:25 #
  24. toamin

One of your answer is already there, let me copy it for you again.

Would you check permissibility from Allah SWT before doing it?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:30 #
  25. amirbutt

musician
    A simple search on this topic will give you all the doctors that you need.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:31 #
  26. amirbutt

jjkhan how do you check permissibility from Allah SWT before doing it? Mind sharing the method you use.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:32 #
  27. Musician

I am sorry that I asked the question.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:33 #
  28. Bilal Tarar

@amir butt
    history of heart problem or history of drunkenness?!
    remember this country has been ruled by dictators for most of the years and they were the only ones to have ruled for long periods, each dictator getting 10 years n what magnificence did they produce?! compared to them the politicians(combined) were given just 10 yrs.
    the dictators lost half the country, they laid the foundations for extremism n terrorism, they laid the foundation of horse trading(ayub defeated maadr-e-millat), corruption and what not.
    the problem is not heart disease, the problem is drunkenness.
    do u know the kerry lugar amount in negligible when compared to the military aid that our army has comsumed in the recent past, no accountability for them?!

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:33 #
  29. amirbutt

bilal I am with you 100% the dictators are the biggest cause of all our greifs. I have absolutely no respect at all for ayub, yahya, zia and mushi. I usally add a very colorful word after I say there name.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:36 #
  30. amirbutt

maybe we should try haris khan as our leader for 1 week. Lets see how he does for 1 week and I am ready to obey all his commands. Than we pass the leadership to a woman for 1 week and see who does better in making this forum a better place.
    serious idea.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:38 #
  31. amirbutt

haris khan zindabad!

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:41 #
  32. Musician

Thank you Hariskahn. A simple YES would have sufficed.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:42 #
  33. amirbutt

Musician a simple yes is not enough. I request haris khan to kindly give a speech on justice. I find them all very inspiring.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:44 #
  34. Adonis

Expecting a dictator to eradicate corruption is like expecting roses to grow on a cactus plant.

There are no shortcuts in the development of a nation. Democracy is the only way.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 10:59 #
  35. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I will accept that democracy which obeys ALLAH ALMIGHTY, which obeys Islam, that which ALLAH ALMIGHTY sent.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 11:05 #
  36. Anonymous

I will accept 'bla, bla, bla,'

Laikin masala yeh hai keh meri koi sunta hee nahee.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 11:15 #
  37. amirbutt

adnak I request that you listen to Hariskhan for 1 week with a open heart.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 11:16 #
  38. Anonymous

Thanks for the precious advice, Mr Amir Butt. Sure, I am doing it and will do again with open heart, for one week.

But the problem is that after listening to him in the past, my friends have started to keep distance from me saying that I've gone mad. The only impact on my behaviour was that I started to use sentences like 'I don't care', 'I need Razor Sharp Accountibility' 'America is doing it' etc; I mean, you can understand it. Amir Butt Sahib, marwa na deena !

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 11:31 #
  39. I noticed something positive is emerging out of this thread where Mr. Hariskhan has gradually started to accept what he opposed a few months back such as,
    * Leadership of Woman in a Muslim State
    * Democracy.
    I believe some messages take time to reach the destination.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 13:34 #
  40. I would first opologise from all my fellow bloggers as I may hurt them with my words in the next para.

First of all, If you all read the question. "Would you accept a fauji dictator if he eradicates corruption?

Now stop talking about musshraf aur hameed gul cuz you are now generalizing about all the Generals!

My Take is....

Yes! Why not?
    We have tried Martial law, civilian Democracy, Army Democracy, Partial Democracy, Zia's Islamic Nizaam so why not a Dictator who will wipe out Corruption? This also assumes that because he is going to wipe corruption, he himself will produce the evidence of his wealth in the first place...

Also people who are against Democracy and Generals, can they tell me that what is Khalifa system? Please enlighten me (And its a serious request cuz I am a very hardcore fundamentalist and liberal muslim. I will accept things and will discuss them with anyone if they want to criticize my faith and religion but will gladly chop his head off if he crosses that line where I feel that that person has evil and sinister intentions about my faith and religion) Don't u think that Khalifa system is also based on dictator ship? Correct me if I am wrong that once a Khalifa is chosen, I have to obey him and If i challenge his incorrect dicision, he has the rite to chop my head off? (Islamic history is full of these incidents) I don't want to divert the topic to a heated Islamic discussion but all my point is that if a Dictator (General or khalifa) can wipe all the corruption then Hell Yea!!!! I want him now!

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 13:53 #
  41. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Javaid Sheikh sb. Only if Islam allows it, not otherwise.

Your standard = Western democracy
    My standard = Islam

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 13:53 #
  42. Musician

"Only if Islam allows it". It is a conditional statement.
    Can you or are you in a position to say whether Islam aloows it or not?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 13:59 #
  43. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Musician: Note;

1) I do not know the answer
    2) I will dwell in Islam to find out the answer

Whatever Islam says, I say that. If Islam negates anything, I do the same.

P.S. I do not know the answer to your question about a woman being a leader. That is why I put up that long a statement. I use Islam as a standard, because I know for a fact that Islam presents the best solutions to any given problem.

Wasn't it a Sahabi (RA, RAA) who said;

If my camel gets lost, I will search for my camel in the Quran

This is what I'll do.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 14:01 #
  44. Musician

Thank you. I am sure there are a lot of people who would like to know.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 14:05 #
  45. netengr

@Hariskhan

My Boss is non muslim and my company is run by Group of Non muslims ,How I can establish Islamic sharia and Khilafah in my company ? and I think being as Muslim I should be head of this company as Khalifa

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 14:08 #
  46. Musician

@ntengr

By being mischeivious!

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 14:12 #
  47. netgrr...
    start it from your home first... then your immediate family, then friends then your long distance friends and family then your locality then your postcode area, then your city and so on... Islamic Shariah doesn't ask u to take over your boss company or job. Also in the initial Islamic days, Sahabis and even Prophet Muhammad Peace be upon him has worked for non-muslims (Please correct me if i am wrong) and get paid.
    I don't approve of your sacrastic question/remarks about "Shariah" If you are against it or don't waant it then please do come out clean and say it. People like me will respect u more and will have healthy debate with u bbut when u come out with these childish, immature remarks, .... other fellows icluding me just lose it all and eventually it becomes nasty,dirty debate. Please avoid this behaviour. thanks

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 14:14 #
  48. * Corruption cannot be eradicated fully, in any State or Society.
    * It could be minimized or controlled through Rule of Law and Independent Judiciary.
    * Corruption cannot be stopped but should be punished.
    * Education can help to minimize Social, Political, Economic, Intellectual and Moral Corruption.
    * A supporter of Terrorism is also committing an act of Corruption.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 14:18 #
  49. @JS
    A supporter of Terrorism is also committing an act of Corruption.

DISAGREE!

If this statement is true and you believe that then please include USA, UK in state terrorism too and they should be also condemened!

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Dec 2009 14:21 #