PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

yesterday slaves of UK ,slaves of USA today

(54 posts)
  1. i have observed a very strange slavery mentality all over in our society ...
    we use to be the slave of UK ..then we became a separate nation,but our mentality was following British gora blindly.

we use to have british accent ,british legal codes,british codes for advertising and PR ,british dictionary ..

now ...since our Govts are playing in US hands and licking its boots ...
    we have mentally accepted this slavery .

see
    we use to be fans of cricket ...
    which was a Britishers game,
    now new generation is fan of football ...
    which is an USA game .

we use to write COLOUR (british spelling)
    now we write COLOR (USA spelling)

i was working for a biscuit camapign .
    do u know
    when listening my concept ..client (MD Of biscuit company)says
    dont say it a biscuit..
    its a Cookie.
    i thought it may be a difference .

but i found it
    the only difference is that
    Britisher called it biscuit
    American called the same thing Cookie ...

height of slavery mentality .

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jun 2009 13:38 #
  2. mylove-Pakistan

Dear All,

I agree that our mentality has changed only after the 90 years of British rule. I visited Spain, which has been ruled by Muslims for more than 700 years. I found no big sign of Muslim influence in their lives. The only things were that some names seemed to be like Arabic, some people had moustache and a few other small things.

British ruled Pakistan/India only for 90 years. After that from our political system to education system, from our economic system to out driving style, in short every aspect of our life is dominated by them.

Yes, recently there has been a small change towards the Americans. But I think it is not only in our society, it is in the world, anywhere you go you will see it.

I think we can speak their language as they speak it, but we should not be mentally dominated by them.

regards

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jun 2009 13:55 #
  3. BECAUSE,
    WE
    Could not provide, innovate, and produce anything better.

Do you have anything glamorous enough to export what could eclipse the Western dominance?
    Do you have any substitute for those 1000 inventions and discoveries made by the West?
    Do you think this would be SLAVISH MENTALITY, if someone goes to China to learn something new, as advised by the Holy Prophet (PBUH)?
    To acknowledge and appreciate someone's contribution should not be twisted to negative meanings.
    To call a RADIO A RADIO is not slavish mentality.
    To name it as BIJLI KA BHONKOO won't help to minimize a feeling of deprivation.
    A slave of knowledge is better than a slave of tradition.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jun 2009 13:59 #
  4. NNL

spoken like a true Slave

Kidding here. I think the OP was refering to something else JS you went on in a differnt track.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jun 2009 14:04 #
  5. We, Pakistanis, have never come out of our slave mentality.

The only possible way to be free of such a mentality would be to know and obey the commands of the Creator to a high level, whilst at the same time having knowledge of S.E.Asian history and its links with British and European Empires.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jun 2009 22:22 #
  6. rocketrevolt

Answer lies in British Educaiton System;you control the education you control the brain of the next generations.The British had ruthlessly controlled the education and hence we find kalay-angraiz everywhere,who despise their own fellas more than the british and over that the funny thing is that British despise them more than the ordinary desi.Knowing the power of education system,you might know that the Dutch government(By the initiative from EU and US), who would never give a penny for poors dying with hunger had spent 300 million dollars through different channels on removing "unnecessary" ,"extremist","hateful" and "intolerant" content(which was pretty much Islamic and relating to Indian sub-continent) from the text books of the Pakistani kids.

And hence we see that working now....:).

Kalay Angraiz wont even recognize anything good in their own culture or society.Any concept which originated from local culture would only be acceptable to them when "angraiz" would accept it otherwise they would be despising it and would hate everything local so much that in the end that constipation of brain would seem like funny to those people who would be observing it out of the box or from a neutral stand point.

ps.Interchange British Education System with US&EU given Education System and there you go....!!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jun 2009 23:49 #
  7. @Shiekh sahib,
    i was not talking bout language and learning .
    i was talking bout behaviors .

crazy bout football instead of cricket .
    calling biscuit a cookie .

that's what a slavery mentality is .

learning is a good thing
    but
    blind following and cheating some one is not a good idea .

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 5:14 #
  8. American Capitalistic System and the Way of Life cannot afford to devote 5 days for a Cricket Test Match, which often ends up at a draw.
    Some of the changes were done to make things simple, easy to understand and logical.
    Elevator (Lift)
    Intersection (Crossing)
    Gas (Petrol)
    Electric switches are turned ON upward to make it more quick and easy to turn OFF, downward.
    In COLOUR 'U' looks extra therefore it was simplified as COLOR.
    TEA was substituted with Coffee.
    A Corner Unit is called an End Unit.
    An automobile has the driver seat and steering on the left where the traffic runs in the right side lanes.

In spite of such reflections of arrogance, the Americans could not replace ENGLISH, the language of their Masters, as their National Language?

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 5:54 #
  9. @Shiekh sahib,
    i am not saying that Americans are wrong in simplifying things ....
    i am saying we are wrong in following blindly first Britishers than now Americans.

i know a family ,they follow football shows like anything but nobody knows well bout football.

they follow football ...just coz its an IN thing.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 6:04 #
  10. skyfacts

The key to progress is only coming out of slavery mentality first. WHY?
    This is always a social tactic to grip a society's mentality first. HOW?

What is the hidden purpose of western NGO's here? To apply and introduce the culture here in the name of funding and development so to find footings, in case when needed like the situation today, the other tactic is to introduce culture through media, ivies and things like that.
    Developing this mentality does not possible in just few weeks but it is always a long term strategy to follow and the result, we can have it.
    In today’s world we dont need to follow the culture and traditions as some one may be think like that.
    China developed themselves but as a true Chinese national.
    Russian developed themselves more than 50% don’t know English.
    Malaysia developed but we cannot find slavery mentality their.
    India trying to develop but look at their culture, they have just their own traditions their.

PAKISTAN...................you are aware about the situation here.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 6:25 #
  11. @skyfacts,
    and the way out is ...............????????????

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 6:44 #
  12. skyfacts

load shedding at the end of the tunnel........ i am sure that we will be much better with improved mentality after passing through this crises,currently we are facing.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 6:55 #
  13. netengr

90 percent Pakistani want to go to UK and USA to live there ,So why not invite them to develop and maintain our country as same as they develop their country .

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 6:59 #
  14. @skyfacts ,
    i still see light at the end of the tunnel...

i dono ...why
    but i a have very very strong hope that
    we will ..come out of this crisis sooner or later .

i dono
    jesus will come to help us out or Quaid e Azam will born agian .

but some how ,despite of this bleak situation,i have a strong faith in REVIVAL OF PAKISTAN . and SURVIVAL OF PAKISTAN.inshallah

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 7:08 #
  15. skyfacts

beenai

AGREED!

We will come out of this crises may be it takes some time.But only one point agenda should be to stop dividing further.And have every effort ,leading to the unity of pakistan and Pakistani.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 7:15 #
  16. sasherwani

Pakistan's doomed, i dunno which light you guys see at the end of the tunnel. We are a failed state with corruption, greed, hatred, fanaticism self-injected in our blood due to the evil, hypocritical and pathetic system. This system is made by the corrupt democratic and religious leaders (e.g. Diesel, Zardari, Khan) Look how we start acting just 3,4 yrs after leaving Pakistan..wellmannered, graceful.. we're not bad ppl we are just part of an ugly system.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 7:22 #
  17. @sasherwani,
    Pakistan Qiam rehnay ki liye bana hay .......
    quote of founder of the nation Quaid e Azam.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 7:27 #
  18. skyfacts

@sasherwani

AAJ KUCH DARD TERY DIL ME SIWA HOTHA HE.......

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 7:29 #
  19. @sasherwani
    if the system is wrong .
    than try to start DAMAGE CONTROL.
    rather than cursing the system on ur computer.

going aboard is not a solution .

if ur own house start leaking in the rain.
    u will go and sit under the roof of a neighbor but how long?

one day
    u have to decide that u cant live under a roof of a neighbor for all your life...
    u have to do something bout leaking roofs and collapsing walls of your own house .
    no matter ,whatever it takes ...

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 7:31 #
  20. sasherwani

Beenai, dont mind my french but you dont know jacK! There are two ways to fix the system...either you go to the court, which is easily the most corrupt "idaara" of Pakistan.Or you go to the Media .. which is full of greedy **** like Hamid Mir, Shahid Masood or religious fanatics like Ansar Abbasi. Wherelse can one go? the police? Have u ever been to a police station in Pakistan? The chances of getting pickpocketed in a police station is much more than in Anarkali.
    As for how long can i stay in my neighbors place? forever? because the neighbor has given me a sabz card to do so!

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 7:44 #
  21. @sasherwani,
    thanks for informing us that u have a green card .

than what r u worried about ?

enjoy your card .

and let us struggling in making our own Green passport trustworthy for the world.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 7:50 #
  22. @sasgerwani,
    but i have to add here ...

u chose the easy way out .

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 7:51 #
  23. shamwariz

@Beenai..
    What is """biscuit""" called in our native language

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 8:05 #
  24. sasherwani

I would like you to inform me if there is a second alternative? I love Pakistan and I would love to come back too. I also want things to change in Pakistan. For 28 years I have hoped that one day our nation will wake up and shall stop voting for crooks like Benazir, Nawaz Sharif or Diesel. But the day Zardari took over us, I gave all my hope. An uneducated, filthy, corrupt, greedy sob has been elected president following the cleanist elections in Pakistan history. That just means I cant even associate myself with the majority of Pakistan that keeps voting in these crooks. Sorry Beenai but all of us will just keep chanting Jeeway Pakistan here and nothing more. I have done it for 28 yrs... it felt good.. but not anymore.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 8:06 #
  25. NNL

sasherwani

I really do know the feeling that you have my friend but if you do get a chance to be in Pakistan and do some change even at a very basic level like providing education to kids in a village who are about leave schools for work.

You would do alot of good
    Insha Allah.

My Friend the biggest drawback that our country faces that the NRPs dont want to comeback and do good. NRIs in India have taken their country do a greater height than us. WE need to establish the same level of activity. The task is tough but eventually its gonna be great if we try harder.

Insha Allah.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 8:12 #
  26. @shamwariz,
    Naan khatie ..aur Meethi tikiya ....LOL

on a serious note
    its the responsibility of our URDU language scholors to come up with alternatives ....

once i have interviewed Jameel Jalibi ...
    urdu dictionary organizer ,great literary person and a Urdu language scholar .
    i have asked him
    Jalibi sahib ,why we have no translation of Pencil ,bulb,Tv,Radio,Computer ,and Biscuit?

he smiled and said
    these are all Aala jaat ....Tools .
    and urdu has no replacement of them ,and has to call it what it has been called by their inventors .

i said
    then why we call a Pen , Qalam in urdu
    and a Table , Meeiz in urdu ?

he said

urdu is a great language
    its has adaptability to absorb any language into it .
    thats why its called Lashkari zaban ...
    (URDU is a word itself ,which means Lashkar)

and in my initial post
    my point was that
    if we are calling a biscuit a biscuit its fine .
    since its a gora invention.
    gora called it biscuit ,so we do .

but whats the point of calling the same thing now a cookie ?

let it be biscuit.

thats what indicates a salve mentality and nothing else.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 8:24 #
  27. @sasherwani,
    u gave up.......
    but i am still hopeful....

i also have lost hopes and expectations with leaders.

i have hopes and expectations with 1.6 million Pakistanis.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 8:30 #
  28. shamwariz

@ Beenai..

Honestly to me it is a non issue.

I know little of German, Italian and Shona (African) languages and lived with them for long.
    Italian being a very vast language still has modern words of English inside and same goes for German..
    Once we use alien words then using the slang’s should also be no problem..

I think appreciating the self shortcoming and then Adoptability to modernization should not be viewed so strongly as slavery.

Urdu is not that vast language so keep it cool…

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 8:38 #
  29. @Shamwariz,
    i am all fine in adaptability .

but you missed my whole point .
    its not only bout language .

its about following blindly the US culture by adapting US sport,US slangs ,US dictionary ,US showbiz stars

we are psychologically accepting that yes we are a slave of USA .
    no matter ,how much we shout on our leaders....

if you see it from my stand point ...
    u wont find it Non issue ...

read history
    how we indain muslims started following GORA culture in united india ..when East India Company came in to play its politics ...........

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 8:48 #
  30. shamwariz

@ Beenai..

OH gosh…
    I hate it but fact is not only us whole the world is crazy about USA, French, Germans, Italians, Iranians, Arabs, Kala’s Browns … tough they all hate USA as evil as well.
    Leaving the evils by this great Satan aside if just see the other side of coin the positivities of USA it is simply great.

Look at the advancements in sciences, Movies, Music, literature, etc etc..

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 9:19 #
  31. Sahnaz

JS

"BIJLI KA BHONKOO "

lolzzzz....tell u turth im sitting in lab with ma frnd and we both r laughing on this word...hey new invention frm a slave.....lolzzzzzz...BTW where did u get this word??

Well to say biscuit a cookie or write colour as color is nt a slavery bcz at the time of Shakespere there was only few thousand word to use in english and shakespere never used more than 1700 words in his all epics.
    they r enhancing their language by adding new words so ds it make them slave of others?? well our mentality is salve of taking everything in a negative way.

Well i think indian immitate more than us. well they r secular n hv more population of kala angrez there, but atleast India's economy is booming and it has a dream to bcm superpower.

china's is losing its culutre in big cities.japan has lost most of it. they r more western now. well u cant blame but to globalization which hv made whole world a hm. so dnt bother abt tht who is immitating whom till it brings gud fr u. try to avoid negative things like, drinking, abusing, prosituting, gambling.
    try to learn frm their gud things like science , technology, medical facilities, infra and supra structure and well being of society.
    i dnt think these things make u mind slave of US, UK or West
    thnx

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 9:34 #
  32. IJay

im sitting in lab? saudia

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 9:55 #
  33. Sahnaz

Saudia??

Hey i dnt live in Saudia.......plzzzzzzz

im in lahore.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 10:04 #
  34. @Shamwariz,
    we are short of courage and knowledge...
    thats why we can only imitate them in showbiz,sports and music .
    we cant try to imitate them in medicine and engineering and arrchitect .
    there were the times these all were our feilds .
    they imitate us
    got our books translated in their languages
    and
    they snatch medicine,engineering and architect from us ...
    in return
    they gave us music,showbiz and bed room jokes
    to be happy about and feel contented .

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 10:15 #
  35. @Shanaz,
    yah ..language doesn't make us slave.
    but following their culture
    means silently accepting the fact
    that we are their slaves.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 10:16 #
  36. Sahnaz

Well im not whole agree with u here. cultur always change. bcz its a process of changes. c its very easy to underatnd how a culture get shape.
    1.A new pattern of behavior is invented, or an existing one is modified.
    2.The innovator transmits this pattern to another.
    3.The form of the pattern is consistent within and across performers, perhaps even in terms of recognizable stylistic features.
    4.The one who acquires the pattern retains the ability to perform it long after having acquired it.
    5.The pattern spreads across social units in a population. These social units may be families, clans, troops, or bands.
    6. The pattern endures across generations

frm first point it is very clear tht existing one get modified when a new pattern take place. So it will go on like this. well in futur with the innovation of new technologies people will bcm more connected with each other as comapred to now. so there will be new patterns in our socio-cultrul life. u cant tell it slavery. ]
    slavery is thn when we frgt our roots and immitate all bad things which we knw, tht these r nt gud fr us. if a change is gud fr u why nt to accept it?? we cant be in denial mode always.
    slavery is thn when sm1 else take our decision. when sm1 else tell us wat to do. when sm1 else write our rights.

Beenai its alwayss nice to talk with u.
    thnx

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 10:29 #
  37. shamwariz

@ Beenai..

@ Beenai..

We few friends at work always discuss and laugh at this common abused phrase ..

What a pity Moslim nation..

Goras stole good things from us…
    They left us with bad things..

Dear Beenai Good deeds and Knowledge are never a personal property of any nation it belongs to who posses these.

We were taught that Knowledge can never be stolen..

We can laugh on such like thoughts >>>> they snatch medicine,engineering and architect from us ... in return they gave us music,showbiz and bed room jokes
    to be happy about and feel contented>>>>>>>>>>>

Just to correct you even we don’t have good music, showbiz and bed room jokes.

We are just only "BIJLI KA BHONKOO "

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 10:34 #
  38. @Sahnaz,
    you answered me in your own post.
    @slavery is thn when we frgt our roots and immitate all bad things which we knw, tht these r nt gud fr us.

thats what i m trying to say for quite a long time in this thread .

that many things we are following just blindly.

we use to have a culture of respecting our elders and treating them as a blessing .
    but now we have developed habits of getting annoying them
    and slowly we are starting having old houses in cities like USA cities .
    do u know in Edhi mera ghar ,many old ppl are living ...
    whos kids are very much alive and doing good in their lives ...just cant take the burden of old parents or parents in law or grand parents .

we use to have many cultural things
    these are getting disappeared .

its always nice to talk to u too dear.
    whenever u come to Karachi ...
    come to my office too
    i will treat you in Bar bee que tonite .
    and then we will go for shopping in park towers ,Ashiyana and Gulf ...
    my office is surrounded by restaurants and shopping malls .
    than we will go to sea view .
    done deal?

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 10:40 #
  39. @shamwariz,
    who was the founder of Algebra ?
    who was the founder of LIGHT Theories ?
    who was the founder of Eye surgery?

Google it please for me.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 10:45 #
  40. Sahnaz

we shud never frgt our roots... otherwise wat wud be our "Pehchaan"?? we shud accept gud thing frm other culture but nt at the cost of our culture which give us a different "Pehchaan" idetity.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 10:46 #
  41. @Sahnaz,
    u got my point .

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 10:48 #
  42. shamwariz

I don’t contradict that but the theory of Steeling good things from us and giving us bad things is funny…

Can a nation who have invented Algebra ? f LIGHT Theories ? Eye surgery let these knowledge’s be stolen..

It is not called steeling My dear..

please read again..Good deeds and Knowledge are never a personal property of any nation it belongs to who posses these.

with these thoughts We are only good at making fun of ourself..

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 10:50 #
  43. @shamwariz,
    u r ,definitely use to taking things literally ..

its not like that our forefathers were standing on the road with algebra and optician books in their hands and some body snatched them while passing by ....

it means that they have translated these books into english and started research on them ....
    on other hand they have strategically allured us to other things ,which can take us far from what we should do while following our intelligent fore fathers .

strategy worked out well for them .......

result is in front of your eyes .

they are the masters
    we are the slaves
    at least mind slaves .
    gone are the days
    when a country ppl need to come and invade a country with weapons and after an open war ,they use to topple local govt and rule on ....
    its the 21st century .

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 11:00 #
  44. shamwariz

""they have strategically allured us to other things ,which can take us far from what we should do while following our intelligent fore fathers ""

NO NO No NO.. a Big NO

We our self and say again We only our self did our own mental genocide and we are still doing that by sufficing and promoting these funny theories and putting all the blame on western world.

If the steeling of knowledge just by translating the books was so simpler then western would have stopped all Muslim in educating in their institutions and learning their languages.

You know in ottoman empires the biggest advent of Mankind “”the printing press”” was banded for 500 years and Kings got Fatwas issued by Taliban mentality Mullahs that the the printing press is Haram .. The main aim was florish of knowledge was threat to Moslim Kings..

That was the time in west the knowledge was multiplying with the help of printing. This single mistake cost us so dearly.

Same is the case now we along with Mullahs are blaming all miseries on USA and west on the other hand Taliban are pushing us in darkness.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 11:14 #
  45. @Shamwariz,
    we may have lost in between....

if you scroll back ..and go to my original post .from which i have started the thread
    i have said the same thing ........

its we who are getting over influenced by USA culture
    trying to follow their mentors in football and showbiz.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 11:21 #
  46. shamwariz

I don’t agree with by just liking the football and showbiz we get influenced by USA culture

The root cause of our miseries are very deep and beyond USA. and west..

It all lies in the sense of ignorance prevailing in our society...

We are slow poisoning our self but blaming others..

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 12:24 #
  47. foot ball and cookie ,american system of paying the bill ,old homes ......... these are the symptoms of the ailment.
    not the ailment itself .

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jun 2009 12:45 #
  48. Culture continues to reshape itself with the passage of time.
    It is never static but keeps on running like a river which cuts its path according to the capacity.
    Renowned Philosopher Ibn-i-Khuldoon acknowledged that a small and weak culture is digested, eclipsed and dominated by a strong and big culture.
    To accept some of attractive and useful American, British, Indian, Chinese’s Japanese and Arab values should not be termed as slavery.
    To compose a blog in ENGLISH @ the PKPOLITICS is not an act of slavish mentality or exposure of inferiority complex.
    It is recognition and appreciation of reality.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Jun 2009 13:11 #
  49. skyfacts

If we are going to search for the good ones in so many countries and than to implement here,than the question is, did we finish the journey through our Quran and hadees and Islam and finding nothing to go with the modern world(not westren)??
    If these are our findings than we should rethink and ponder over ISLAM as it claims inch by inch coverage of your all individual and as a community life and would help you in establishing ISLAMIC CULTURE as a whole.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Jun 2009 13:25 #
  50. You are free to struggle for the establishment of Islamic Culture.
    Good Luck.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Jun 2009 13:40 #