YouGov@Cambridge survey about Pakistani leadership

(29 posts)
  1. salaudin

Excerpt from Huffington Post article

• 61% of respondents ranked Khan as their first choice, with a total of 77% selecting him as either first or second preference.
    • By comparison, the next most popular candidate, former President Pervez Musharraf, was ranked first by only 12%, and either first or second by a total of 23%.
    • Below this, the Army Chief ,General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani, was ranked first or second by 13%, while Asif Ali Zardari, the current President of Pakistan and Co-Chairman of the country's largest party (the Pakistan People's Party/ PPP) was either first or second choice for a total of just 2%.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/joel-faulkner-rogers/can-imran-khan-save-pakistan_b_905587.html

Some were looking for it so I decided to post the article which explains the major findings. The exact document is as follows
    http://www.yougov.polis.cam.ac.uk/sites/yougov.polis.cam.ac.uk/files/YGCam-Archives-YGCam-PakistanPoll_HT-210711v2.pdf

Posted 10 months ago on 21 Jul 2011 17:39 #
  2. bsobaid

laikin vote naa zardari ko miltay hein naa shareef ko. Vote miltay hein local gujjar, araein aur butt ko.

iss liyay..hold off the celebrations.

Posted 10 months ago on 21 Jul 2011 18:35 #
  3. Just_one

@bsobaid,

You are living in the past. Things have changed on the ground.

Posted 10 months ago on 21 Jul 2011 19:05 #
  4. bsobaid

Last time I checked, ZA Bhutto changed it and even he had to resort back to local gujjar.

Immu's fan base is in internet and urban areas. He either needs the right candidates who are powerful in their local constituencies to win him seats, the same technique PPP used in AJK OR Immu's charisma make all Gujjars and Araeins and Sheikhs look beyond to a leader and as I said last time it happened was Bhutto. I dont see it happening ey, specially because rural population dont care much about drone and Amreeka.

Posted 10 months ago on 21 Jul 2011 19:29 #
  5. toamin

یہ بات کی نا عبید بھائی نے کام کی

اصل مسلہ تو برطانوی راج کی کھچی لکیروں پر چناؤ کا ہے، جس میں ہوتا یہ ہے کہ ایک برادری کا بندہ مدمقابل برادری کے بندے کے خلاف لڑ رہا ہوتا ہے، گجر جاٹ کے خلاف لڑ رہا ہوتا ہے تو راجہ ستی سے دست گریبان ہوتا ہے، انسان کو پست ترین سطح پر رکھ کر جانوروں کی طرح دنگل ہوتا ہے

میری برادری کا بندہ لگے گا تو تھانے دار، تحصیلدار، ضلع دار پٹواری میرے لگیں گے اور یوں میں مد مقابل قبیلے، ذات یا برادری کو دبا کر رکھوں گا

زرداری اور شریف وغیرہ تو دیکھتے ہیں کس بیل میں کتنا دم خم ہے اور وہ اس پر ہاتھ رکھ دیتے ہیں

جب تک اس برطانوی راج کی کھچی لکیروں سے ہم باہر نہیں نکلتے ہیں ہم یوں ہی کتے بلیوں کی طرح ذات برادری لسانی بنیادوں پر لڑتے رہیں گے

ذات برادری سے باہر نکلیں تو ملکی سطح پر کوئی دیکھے

زرداری اور نواز کی مثال بھی ایسی ہے یہ وہ گھوڑے ہیں جن پر بین الاقوامی کھلاڑی ہاتھ رکھتے ہیں تو دوڑتے ہیں، ان نظریں باہر لگی ہوتی ہیں کہ کب اشارہ ملے کہ کس سمت بھاگنا ہے

برطانوی نظام سے چھٹکارا پانا ہوگا اور اس نظام کو کی وکالت کرنے والوں کو بھی کشتی میں بیٹھا کر لارڈ میکالے کے پاس بھیجنا ہوگا، پھر عوام کو ان معمولی جھگڑوں سے نکال کر تربیت دینی ہوگی

آداب

Posted 10 months ago on 22 Jul 2011 4:59 #
  6. ajhons

@Just_one

@bsobaid
    Things have changed on the ground

REALLY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Its a news for me because last time I checked we still have Kammis and Haris sitting on the ground and they even don't know who is Quaid e Azam.

Posted 10 months ago on 22 Jul 2011 8:39 #
  7. Just_one

@bsobaid,

You need to re-check.

The strong candidates in the constituencies will pursue PTI's ticket, seeing the tide. You didn't hear Imran Khan saying that the problem for PTI is not of lacking candidates, but the choice of the suitable ones from multiple requests in each constituency?

Secondly, if you think Imran's politics revolves around drone strike and America alone, you need to rethink again. No fault in rethinking.

Imran Khan is the most vocal political leader about issues like corruption, inflation, thana and patwari culture, village courts, etc. Don't you think these things affect villagers?

But most important, he is honest and has no price, this one gets support of all and sundry. Corruption and mismanagement is the root of many problems.

Posted 10 months ago on 22 Jul 2011 9:58 #
  8. Just_one

@Salam,

British system is working very well in Britain and dozens of different countries, why can't it in Pakistan?

As long as there is no ideal state you envision in place practically, we will have to strive to implement the true democratic system which has worked in dozens of countries and doesn't exist on paper alone.

Posted 10 months ago on 22 Jul 2011 10:00 #
  9. bsobaid

@Salam and Just,

A highly charismatic leader who talks of awami issues can make awam look beyond their zaat baradary and as I mentioned, it has happened once in past.

The key is to talk about awami and rural issues which includes jazbaati naaray baazi against jageerdaar and sarmayadaar, land ownership to peasents, removel of middle man to lift agricultural produce from farmer, tractor schemes, tube wells etc.
    Trust me, rural and even majority of urban population does not vote on Amreeka and drones and even ehtesaab of chor leaders. Amreeka and drone may get some traction in KP but thats about it.

Posted 10 months ago on 22 Jul 2011 15:36 #
  10. shriq

You would see that this 2% of Zardari would turn out to be 100% in next election. We will vote our looters, killers, plunderers, cruel lot again to the top place!
    Just wait and see!

Posted 10 months ago on 22 Jul 2011 18:08 #
  11. @bsobaid

Imran Khan is just a "Masee Museebtay". I can't wait to see the excuses that his "nanny munnay" minded "mummy daddy" burger eating, pepsi drinking type supports will make for him and his ghost team for making things worse. He may end up breaking Pakistan. But he will surely be loved in India for this great favor that he may do to India. I am sure he is fully capable of doing that.

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 9:20 #
  12. @Raavi

Your forecast seems very realistic but do you want to know why will this happen. Even if Imran Khan somehow wins the elections it will still hold true what Allaah says in surah 2, ayah 170:

"When it is said to them: "Follow what Allah has sent down." They say: "Nay! We shall follow what we found our fathers following." (Would they do that!) Even though their fathers did not understand anything nor were they guided?"

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 9:33 #
  13. As long as this satanic system called democracy is in action the affairs in Pakistan will keep on getting worse and worse.

How funny (and sad at the same time) it will be to see someone else, in future, screaming and yelling (like Imran Khan's masee museebtay style) in jalsaas & dharnaas to bring "Inqilaab" against the corrupt Imran Khan regime. That next self proclaimed savior will also find hundreds of misguided supporters like today.

As Mirza Ghalib said:

ch****** ki kami nahi Ghalib
    aik dhoondo hazaar miltay hain

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 9:35 #
  14. in continuation to my comments above. The following video of the post shows us a glimpse of future:

enjoy!

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 10:13 #
  15. scandinavian

@Wdurrani

Just like the young man on the video you are doing a very well paid job. Don't try to fool us. Come out openly like a man and admit that you are a nooner disguised as "pious" man.

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 10:36 #
  16. toamin

جسٹ ون صاحب

امیدوار کے چناؤ کا طریقہ بذریعہ عوام تو ایک ایسی قدر ہے جو اور بھی نظاموں میں مشترک ہے، آپ کی سوئی الیکشن سے آگے جائے تو پتہ چلے کہ نظام کس چڑیا کا نام ہے

نظام ان درجنوں کتابوں کو کہتے کہتے ہیں جن پر بابو عبور رکھتے ہیں اور بتاتے ہیں کہ کونسا کام کیسے ہوگا، یہ کتابیں ایسٹ انڈیا کمپنی نے مقامی آبادی کو کچلنے اور دبا کر رکھنے کے لئے لکھی تھیں، اگر وہ یہی کتابیں اپنے ملک میں بھی لاگو کرتے تو کیا بات ہوتی، لیکن انہوں نے کب ان کا نفاذ اپنے ملک میں کیا؟

یہ تو صرف غلاموں کے لئے قانون وضا کئے گئے تاکہ ان کو محکوم رکھ کر اپنے مقصد کے لئے استمعال کیا جا سکے، میرا نہیں خیال کہ آپ سمیت دیگر ساتھیوں نے کبھی ان کتابوں کی شکل بھی دیکھی ہو

آپ سمجھتے ہیں کہ جمہوریت کا مطلب ہے اپنی مرضی سے لیڈر کا انتخاب کرنا اور باقی نظاموں میں لیڈر کا انتخاب نہیں ہوتا، یہی تو سب سے بڑی غلط فہمی ہے بھائی، سب سے پہلے خلافت میں ہی تو لیڈر کے چناؤ کا طریقہ کار وضا کیا گیا تھا اور عمل کیا گیا تھا

لیڈر کے چناؤ کے بعد ریاست کیسے چلے گی، اس کے لئے پھر نظام کی ضرورت ہوا کرتی ہے اور میں نظام کی بات کر رہا ہوں، چناؤ کی نہیں، مجھے لیڈر کے انتخاب پر اعترض ہی نہیں، بیشک یہ عوام کا حق ہے کہ وہ جسے چاہئیں چنیں، لیکن بھائی چننے کے بعد بھی تو سوچیں کہ کاروبار مملکت کیسے چلے گا، حکمران ان کتابوں کا پابند ہے جو لارڈ میکالے نے جبری نافذ کی تھیں، ان سے چھٹکارا پائے بغیر ترقی ممکن ہی نہیں

آداب

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 10:46 #
  17. @Scandinavian

No one is conspiring against your "masee museebtay" leader. I am not trying to fool you. Your are already being fooled by the supporters of satanic democracy.

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 10:55 #
  18. scandinavian

@Wdurrani

You seem ot be a quite "knowledgable" man :)

Please tell me what is your opinion about:

- Ameer-el-monineen i.e. N$=Nawaz Sharif
    - Khadim-e-ala i.e. $$=Showbaz Sharif
    - Zardari sab choroN par bhari

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 11:01 #
  19. @Scandinavia

You are just so bhola bhala nanna munna minded that in your view by quoting from Quran I am trying to look pious? So if I quote from Quran I will look pious? Only people like you may be fooled with it. My bholay friend..even non-Muslims quote from Quran..does it make them appear pious?

Just read the aayaat of Quran and whether you follow it or not is your decision and you will be responsible for it on the Day of Judgement.

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 11:06 #
  20. scandinavian

@Wdurrani

You have still not answered my questions. Come on, you can do it. Give it a shot if some of them are not your masters :)

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 11:24 #
  21. @Scandinavia

Don't you already know much about Nawaz Sharif, Zardari and rest of the crazy people involved in this evil & satanic system called democracy? Haven't you already seen their tenures? Are you really this bhola? I think you were either a choosni succker baby at that time or may be you are suffering from dementia/alzheimer's thats why you also forgot Imran Khan's playboy past and his political follies (like supporting that shaytaan called Pervaiz Musharraf) and proudly took him as your leader and savior only on the basis of his foolish masee museebtay talk and khiyaali palaos that his ghost team will cook for you one day and stuff it down your throat.

Let me tell you something clearly. I immensely appreciate the social work that Imran Khan has done in the past like the cancer hospital etc. I helped this cause as much as I could in my student life, when he was seeking help to build the hospital. I was from the first few students from the Engineering University of Peshawar who joined Imran Khan when he started Movement of Justice. But Alhamdulillaah Allah later gave me a little understanding of religion and now I truly believe that democracy is an evil system and it is not a solution but a huge problem for the Muslims.

Let me please remind you again that I am not at all a pious man but I feel sad when I see good people like you running after the satanic beliefs and ideas.

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 11:52 #
  22. Just_one

@Salam,

We don't have to follow the governance system of the colonial days. What's stops us form replacing it? The incompetent and corrupt leadership, who has never let true democracy flourish in Pakistan.

For example comissionary system vs local bodies - the corrupt and incompetent politicians have preferred the former, because local bodies mean empowering people at the city and village level, which they don't want.

If your problem is with the colonial legacy left by the British, I am with you. But don't try to confuse democracy with the colonial system. Democracy is as implemented in Euoprean countries, Japan, Malaysia, etc, all moving towards relative porpserity. I believe that a credible leadershp which will come through a fair and free election, will be able to change the legacy of the colonial era.

But where I disagree with you is the importance of election. Elections are very important - if they can be called elections. That is, free and fair election. If a democratic government is truly elected through a free and fair election, it will be a) connected to the people and their problems and b) will take measures providing relieve to the people as it would be answerable to them, thus moving the "system" in a positive direction.

America was a democracy when discrimination against blacks and women were legalized. Yet due to it being a democracy, women and civil rights movements accomplished the equality of both these communities before law. This can only happen in a democracy based on transparent election, because the government arises form the people and has to be answerable to them.

Other systems are static. You mentioned Khilafat, but correct me if I am wrong, isn't it that specific people, i.e., "leaned people" or scholars, consulted during the election process?

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 12:44 #
  23. @Just_one

Reported on the authority of 'Abd al-Rahman bin Samura who said: The Messenger of Allaah (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam) said to me: 'Abd al-Rahman, do not ask for a position of authority, for if you are granted this position as a result of your asking for it, you will be left alone (without the help of Allaah to discharge the responsibilities attendant thereon), and if you are granted it without making any request for it, you will be helped (by Allaah in the discharge of your duties). [sahih Muslim]

Isn't everyone asking for the government and rule in this satanic system called democracy?

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 13:10 #
  24. @Just_one

Will still support democracy?

Muhammad (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam)said, "You will follow the ways of those nations who were before you, span by span and cubit by cubit (i.e., inch by inch) so much so that even if they entered a hole of a mastigure (a type of lizard), you would follow them." We said, "O Messenger of Allaah (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam)! (Do you mean) the Jews and the Christians?" He said, "Whom else?"

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 13:17 #
  25. scandinavian

@Wdurrani

I am sure you are on mission. You are not clever enough to hide your true intentions. Your aim is to malign IK and keep off topic from N$, $$ and their brother in mission Zardari.

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 15:42 #
  26. @Scandinavian

Same nannay munny minded person's reply from you.

You are deeply caught in the trap of shaitaan and the pitty is that you don't realise it.

You foolishly think that every person who disagrees with your corrupt beliefs is a conspirator. You have miserably failed to seek any guidance from the authentic ahadeeth I quoted from sahih Muslim and sahih Bukhari.

May Allaah guide you.

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 17:19 #
  27. scandinavian

@Wdurrani

"You are deeply caught in the trap of shaitaan and the pitty is that you don't realise it."

Has it ever occurred to you that you are the one condemning people and you are the one trapped in devilish behavior! Is this the way our beloved Prophet taught us to speak about others i.e. name calling in every sentence? For me you sound more like an illiterate Pakistani Mullah striking his will in the heads of his subordinates. You are NO inspiration for me!

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 17:42 #
  28. Just_one

@wdurani,

But what's the harm in voting for the right candidate as long as there is democracy as we know it? I would surely want to see an honest person leading Pakistan unlike corrupts like Nawas and Zardari in any system.

In the meantime, I wish you good luck for your ideal system.

Posted 10 months ago on 23 Jul 2011 17:49 #
  29. @Just_one

I have tried to answer your question in the other thread "Who deserves to be our leader......". Please read my response there and also please think about the following hadith again.

Muhammad (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam)said, "You will follow the ways of those nations who were before you, span by span and cubit by cubit (i.e., inch by inch) so much so that even if they entered a hole of a mastigure (a type of lizard), you would follow them." We said, "O Messenger of Allaah (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam)! (Do you mean) the Jews and the Christians?" He said, "Whom else?"

In this hadith is a severe warning to us Muslims to not follow the ways of Jews and Christians.

Posted 10 months ago on 24 Jul 2011 1:34 #