PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

your favourite talk show personality (not necessarily political) and Why?

(45 posts)
  1. Anonymous

My favourite personality is Jawaid Ahmed (Asst. Director of Iqbal Academy Lahore). He regularly features in "Aliph" program on GEO TV. He is probably in late 50s or 60s and he has a long white beard and wears a tablighi jamat type topi. He speaks fine urdu.

What I like the most about him is his clarity of ideas. He is very clear in his mind of his views and his answers are not just based on blind analysis but they are backed by strong academic and practical knowledge. He demonstrates mastery of the topic under discussion. He is extremely articulate and intelligent. When you listen to him you feel like someone superior in knowledge and intelligence is talking unlike most ( infact all) other TV personalities whose intelligence and knowledge is just mediocre.

He is extremely objective in this answers unlike others who are mostly subjective. His answers are totally unbiased of any day-to-day events. What I have noticed about most of the other TV personalities is that there analysis is based on day-to-day "events" and not the "process" and "phenomenon" itself.

So in short, I am extremely impressed by this gentleman and its a shame I dont know of any of his publications.

Please lets us know which TV talk show personality you like and why?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jun 2009 19:30 #
  2. shamwariz

Talat hussain is best of all offcourse ..

Because he has soft corner for PPP ):.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 10:07 #
  3. thats what i was saying
    despite of his bad
    that he is a PPP supporter
    he is researcher ,focused and to the point .

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 10:09 #
  4. shamwariz

We are drifting from Topic.... But its nothing bad if Pro PPP as long as he is focused, researcher and to the point the true definition of PPP wala...

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 10:20 #
  5. @Shamwariz,
    its the other way around.
    very unlike the PPPP wala.

Zardari,Fouzia wahab,Mehreen Raheel,Farzana Raja ,Nabeel Gabol ,Sharmeela Faruqi...

whom out of these u think are researcher ,focused and to the point?

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 10:23 #
  6. lajawab

DR SHAHIS MASOOD IS THE BEST

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 11:56 #
  7. @lajawab,
    and why?

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:00 #
  8. aristotle

beenai

zardari is focused on maney making... and others r focused on zardari:)

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:02 #
  9. @Aristotle,
    well ...Zardari is quiet focused .if he is for money making.
    but Fouzias and Farzanas and Firdusus and Farahas are keep shifting their focus.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:06 #
  10. aristotle

i think all Fs are very focused on dear zardari... dont u see in which way they praise and apprecite zardari?

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:07 #
  11. @Aristotle,
    i think ..we are deviating from our topic.
    so whos your favorite anchor?
    focused or non focused?

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:13 #
  12. msohail83

I like Talat but I think he's becoming too arrogant.

He's analyticaal but he's overstretching it by doing so many solo shows. Does he consider himself an expert at everything?

He sucks as a narrator. His monotonic approach annoys me and I can't stay focused watching his 'documentaires'.

He performs better as a talk show host. Very focused and witty. No zanana harkatein like Javed Chaudhry and Hamid Mir to incite his guests to fight. Well behaved and thouroughly professional.

I rank Kashif Abbasi just behind him. He's equally brilliant!

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:35 #
  13. @msohail,
    i agree ...
    Kashif is bold and brilliant.
    that's why poor guy gets ban usually.

over all i like his spontaneous cross questioning ,prompt answers and quick responses in comparison with Ooonnnnn aaaannnn of other anchors ...

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:37 #
  14. msohail83

Kashif is stuck with the wrong network. Abdul Razak Yaqoob (ARY) biggest smuggler of gold bullion who has to rely on incumbent govt's support to do his business. You can't expect much from them.

Don't u see losers hosting their shows...big sycophants!

He should join Waqt TV or channel 5 who are both struggling to make their mark. He can raise their standards by hosting a show for them.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:42 #
  15. @msohail,
    but smuggler maybe giving him big bugs ..what other channels can not afford maybe ............
    we dont know Kashif personally .
    God knows what his priorities are ?

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:46 #
  16. msohail83

I hope not! I don't expect Kashif to go that route. Let's be positive.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:48 #
  17. yah ..
    Be Positive .
    even if everything is wrong ..
    then still there is always a hope ...

i hope loser owners of ARY realize the worth of Kashif soon .
    or
    any other channel do so by offering him a job.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 12:54 #
  18. Anonymous

Just so you all know, your favourite personality does'nt have to be an anchor. Jawaid Ahmed is not an anchor but he regular features on "Aliph" show.

I dont like Kashif Abbasi at all. He is media spokesperson of N-League. He has no insight and he sees everything from traditional IJI perspective. I dont expect any talk show anchor to be completely impartial or unbiased but one has to be reasonably impartial and Kashif Abbasi is definitely not reasonably partial either. He is a PML-N person.
    Yes, he is bold and grills people on the show but that does not mean much. He is not intelligent and his analysis is based on traditional thinking. His analysis (however little it is) is populastic and he does not make you think. He analyzes "events" from traditional IJI point of view with no or little regard to the "process". He does not have strategic thinking, he has operational thinking, which is reflected in his shallow, populistic and unintelligent analysis.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jun 2009 14:49 #
  19. Anonymous

Sorry for bringing this old topic up but does anyone know if Mr. Javed Ahmad has written any books? He is my idol and I am a big fan of his. Here is his picture:

http://www.geo.tv/geonews/program.asp?pid=144

He is Asst. Director in Iqbal Academy Lahroe and he is an extremely intelligent and well-read person.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 8:22 #
  20. IJay

NOW DAYS NO ONE!

BUT I STILL LIKE JAVED CHOUDRY WITH HIS HISTORY LESSON!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 8:23 #
  21. sasherwani

#1 Begum Nawazish Ali
    #2 That girl from ARY Musik (Natasha)
    #3 Waqar Zaka from Living on the Edge

;)

I dont like any of the political talk show hosts and I dont watch their shows.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 9:34 #
  22. IJay

TALAT HUSAIN WAS MY FAVORITE UNTIL HE TOOK LIFAFA!

AAB TU BAS PHOOL HI PHOOL JHARTAY HAI MUN SAI!

SARKAR KI JAI HO! TALAT JEETAY RAHO! MAZAY SAI!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 9:42 #
  23. If i had a chance, I will personally put one .45 Bullet in waqar's head with a smile!

His show is dangerous, humilating and complete waste of time. Asking a girl to kiss a snake or asking people to walk bare feet on red hot flames. Asking kids to jump from real dangerous heights...Asking girls to fool a guy or slap a guy for no reason to show that they have balls??? ****?

In west, you will seriously end up in court if you make people do things on live tv which can endanger any one's life.. I still remember the guy who got badly injured when he tried to put off fire with his tongue... These immature, useless anchors should be banned...

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 9:48 #
  24. mylove-Pakistan

Well first according to the topic, in my opinion Talat Hussain is the best.

I think all the people related to this profession are doing for survival like doctors, lawyers, teachers, clerks and all other professions. I think there may be a bit more patriotism in these anchors but they are doing it for surviving in this world. Therefore, we cannot expect perfectionism from them like the others.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 9:55 #
  25. http://www.archive.org/details/ShahranAsimUrduTalkRadioandBloggingdiscussion

Talat Hussain 2 year back interview on Chicago Radio Channel.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 9:57 #
  26. Shahid MASOOD AND DR Danish were both in PSF and very active members of PPP during their days in Sindh Medical College.. I am sure all others have been connected to one or the other political parties.. Iss hammam may sub hee nangay hain!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 10:07 #
  27. sasherwani

Khan,

Waqar is a leechar Altaf Hussain ka tattu. He loves watching youtube videos of Chris Angel, David Blaine and MTV Roadies and does a scene-by-scene CHHAPA of those shows. If you guys ever saw the episode where Waqar unmasks a fake black magician, it was a copy of one of Chris Angel's Mindfreak episodes.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 12:20 #
  28. Anonymous

My bad, his name is Ahmad Javed not javed Ahmad. Someone tells me name of his books. I am a big fan of his!

Here is he

http://www.geo.tv/geonews/program.asp?pid=144

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 20:55 #
  29. Anonymous

Nafs, since you know almost everything including name of Beenai's cousin and the nationality of Oriel's mum, do you also know about Ahmed Javed and any of his books, if he has written any?

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 20:57 #
  30. misalligned

All of you want to talk about the one you like but i want to write the names of the anchors who no one likes, please add in this list.

The worst anchors
    ==================

1- who could be at no. 1 in this list. Any wild guesses. who else its PJ Mir

2- Dr. Danish, i am placing it at no. 2 but believe me he gave a real tough time to PJ Mir for the first position

3- Faeza Dawood, no comments

4- Jawed Malik, he was almost on a tie with faeza dawood

5- jawed Ch. who dont let any one even complete one sentence, he should do meray mutabiq instead of doing a talk show, half of the time he takes in telling his stories so why not a meray mutabiq type program

6- Shahid masood, a sell out

7- Hamid Meer, Mohallay ki aurat

please carry on with the list

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Jul 2009 22:29 #
  31. lolz

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Jul 2009 10:01 #
  32. junejo

as-salam u alaikum

I dont know much about Ahmad Javed but I know this that every friday he has a lecture at his residence from maghrib to isha. It is a small gathering of about 30 people or so and that is all that his guest room can handle. i think his home is in township, lahore.
    He indeed is quite an intellectual

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Oct 2009 2:23 #
  33. quaidkamazaar

Mubashir Luqman is my favorite..... might seem like a very random pick. his show "the luqman show" is phenomenal.

but he is GOOOD and speaks truth whether others like it or not. he has a very anti-govt stance though.

ofcourse, who can beat Waqar Zaka otherwise!
    his show exposed is working towards fixing society i really like it.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Oct 2009 3:00 #
  34. Mubashir Luqman is the favorite of all MQM lovers .
    because he has a soft corner for MQM ,for some reason.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Oct 2009 4:13 #
  35. zingaro

Mera koi favorite host nahi hay .. I like every one because every one presents his own approach. That is diversity which helps us to analyze things from different angles. But i dislike Jasmine, Ayla, because they are not worthy to be hosts.

On the other hand, every host who points out the mistakes of government is the real dutiful person.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Oct 2009 15:07 #
  36. quaidkamazaar

Luqman does not have a soft corner for MQM Beenai, i mean i've seen him say good things about other parties.

its just that he is too straightforward and blunt it might sound that way.

yes he has praised mqm more than others thats true.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Oct 2009 1:38 #
  37. @quaidkamazar,
    u r denying the fact in one line...
    accepting it in another line ...
    read your post again ....
    and decide ,what u wanna say actually ?

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Oct 2009 3:30 #
  38. quaidkamazaar

im denying that he has soft corner for mqm because he appreciates other parties at times.

but i also mean to say he however acknowledges MQM more openly than others but i think he is just being honest.

i do realize i kind of went in circle before but... watever.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Oct 2009 5:20 #
  39. zingaro

Abbas Athar in his today's column has mentioned about Mubashar's liking for Khateeb-e-beyparwa ... please read his columns (27-10-2009)in Express News.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Oct 2009 14:03 #
  40. @logicalever ,
    u must be logical ever ...
    but here u r losing logic ,while defending Dr Shahid .
    u said ;he is intelligent .
    but if he is ...why he took the wrong decision of accepting the Govt post ?
    as this psot was offered to some other senior journalists,but they wisely rufused that offer ,while keeping in mind the obvious difference between a short term goal of getting a Govt post and a long term loss in the shape of losing all the reputation .
    Dr.Shahid turned out the less intelligent in analyzing this thing and get into the trap of Govt .

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Oct 2009 7:09 #
  41. quaidkamazaar

CHECK this OUT!

Mubashir Luqman slap on Fozia Wahab's face...

and to those who say Luqman is MQM lover,
    he only spoke about PUnjab mostly in this.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Nov 2009 22:54 #
  42. Excellent LINK Quaidkamazzar!
    Mazza ahe Gaya

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Nov 2009 1:04 #
  43. quaidkamazaar

You are most welcome Khan Bhai,

Fozia Wahaab was speechless and she could not find any answers... hahahaha i was laughing at her defensless state.

I like Mubashir Luqman's agressive courageous antigovt courageous stance.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Nov 2009 3:35 #
  44. amin1924

Here is other side of the coin about Mubashir Lick-man.

http://pkpolitics.com/2009/11/05/live-with-khalid-butt-5-november-2009/

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Nov 2009 3:47 #
  45. @quaidkamazar,
    i m sorry ....Fouzia wahab is so lul that ,it does not take a sharp and high intellect person to slap him.

so i m not at all impressed ,what Mubassir Lukman did .

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Nov 2009 5:31 #