Zaid Hamid's latest video

(48 posts)
  1. http://zaidhamid.pk/

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 13:30 #
  2. Those of you who may have the patience, please to listen to Zaid Hamid's latest video. Just as I have, perhaps you too might learn something which will finally come in handy.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 13:32 #
  3. mujhay inki personality kafi se zaida pur-israr lagti hay.
    aap kiya kehtay hain Mirza sahib?

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 13:55 #
  4. toamin

اللہ کرے کہ اس لال ٹوپی والے کو کیانی و پاشا کی غداری سمجھ آ جائے، جب مشرف جرنیل تھا تو یہی حامد اس کی شان میں قصیدہ پڑھا کرتا تھا کہ مشی بھائی ڈبل گیم کھیل رہے ہیں اور آج یہ لال ٹوپی والا کیانی و پاشا کی عظمت کے گیت گا رہا ہے، کاش اس کو سمجھ آ جائے کہ ان کو توسیع اس لئے نہیں دی گئی کہ یہ ملک و قوم کی خدمت کر رہے ہیں

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 15:19 #
  5. Salam, Wish I could read what you said, but the Urdu script is beyond me. Sorry.

Choosy, Look, I came onto this blog because of Zaid Hamid. I was living my daily life the best I could, no great thoughts within my head and no special hope that I'd see Pakistan change its ways during my own lifetime. He galvanised me from the word go. Gave me back hope and courage. Made me rush back to Pakistan to take the temperature of my beloved country with my own two hands, etc., etc. The blogger I am has always been inspired by Zaid Hamid's vision of the future. Nota once warned me not to admit this in public. Thereafter I held my tongue. Today, we've gone so far in our desperation, even speaking out doesn't seem to be such a big deal after all. In my eyes, Z.H. is genuine all right. And he's spot on when he says we are in the midst of an information war and our weapon of choice is the computer.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 15:43 #
  6. liv_2_die

^ @ Mirza

i 2nd ur thoughts .. i also find zaid hamid a sincere person .. one can argue about a few top people but i think he speaks on whole about ARMY as an institution and i couldnt agree more ... we are indeed at war and this war is fought behind the screens .. propaganda is the latest weapon and so many lies are fed to us constantly over and over again that eventually we take them as truth .. we have been warned about this 'fitna of dajjal' by our Prophet (peace be upon him) who said that this is the biggest fitna any ummat would face .. for the so called 'librals' Martin Luther King said 'peace if possible - truth at all costs'

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 15:52 #
  7. toamin

@Mirza Ghalib

I was trying to say that this guy -zaid hamid- was an ardent advocate of Mushy when Mushy was Chief of Army Staff, he always justified mushy's policies whether lal-masjid slaughter or bugti killing. Zaid always found "indian hand" and presented it as logic behind mushy's actions, he used to praise mushy's coward policy of collaboration as "double game".

Now he finds Kiyani/Pasha as the mard-e-momin of Pakistan Army, both received extensions in their service because of their "good service".

I'm not against army as a whole, but am against the Chief who in my opinion is a cheap traitor-

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 16:15 #
  8. Salam, you may be right about ZH's support of Musharraf. I didn't know him then and I should certainly not have supported him then had he been on M's side. I've said this before, I say it again: I can even forgive M's cowardly joining up with US after the stupid 9/11 story. I'll not forgive him Lal Majid which was a wholly unnecessary act on his part.

Now about Kiyani/Pasha, maybe he supports them, maybe not. But, to my ears, he does talk sensibly about the army in today's situation.

Oh, Salam, what else to say? He at least has never given up on Pakistan. And then, "Ki Muhammad si wafa tu ne to hum tere hain" about sums up the trust I place in him.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 16:36 #
  9. toamin

Well, I was an admirer of this guy, but after his continuous support for military operations/policies I figured that he is just a mouth piece of army.

Yes, he raises patriotic emotions and tries to rally support behind mr. army chief, but to me army chief himself is the biggest traitor, his logic & rational (always hindu hand) is fake because it's no one else but the army chief himself who provides full support to invaders-

I'm myself believer in Pakistan & its potential and inshallah this would be launching pad for islamic revival, but mr. lal topi and his leadership would be thrown out first-

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 16:45 #
  10. OK, Salam, let's just wait and see. We both want the same thing. For that, thank you, God.If you're right, at the speed at which we're going, we'll find out soon enough. And if I'm right, that too will be visible to us all in days ahead.

BTW, Remember we argued about Egypt at one time. Today, at least the Egyptians have stopped delivering gas to Israel and they have opened the Rafah Crossing, both brave moves on their part.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 16:57 #
  11. toamin

Well.. I've different analysis on rafa crossing & gas-

It's part of american plan to mount pressure on israil and bring hmaas/ftah together on negotiation table.. long story short -power center in egypt is same as before and current policy is only result of initiative from mr. barack, so shall we then thank mr. barak?

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 17:01 #
  12. hypocrite

I am wondering if as a nation we very easily get baised in favour or against personalities.

Just by listening to their sweet talks, sermons, slogans, eomotional speeches, narration of half truths and reading sentimental write-ups from Zia, Musharraf, Bhutto, BB, Nawaz Sharif, Zaid Hamid, Imran Khan , Dr. Shahid Masood and scores of other such names we decide to tow the line blindly. We start issuing certificates of partiotism, sincerity, traitors and what not to everyone and anyone.

Even on this thread there is such a diverese opinion about one person. Well diversity is a good thing but extreme diverse opinion about the same person is bit difficult for me to comprehend. Makes me wonder what is truth and what is false. Who to trust and whom not to.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 17:17 #
  13. scindian

Zaid hamid is Fitna for Pakistan.

Auuz-billahe minashaitaan-r-rajeem

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 17:24 #
  14. scandinavian

I don't trust this man. Zaid Hamid's unlimited support for the institution, which has installed the most corrupt leadership upon us, is far too suspicious for my taste. We need a man who understands Pakistan as well as the outside world. We need people like Imran Khan who can tackle this serious situation without being sell outs and without being ****. If someone can do it then it's IK!

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 18:06 #
  15. And what tells you, Scandinavian, that IK is not in touch with Zaid Hamid? And Shah Mehmood Qureshi and, and, and? You don't like him, don't, fair enough. I know what I need to conclude from that. I don't trust politicians. I only trust mystics like Iqbal himself. Some people wouldn't recognise a mystic if by some strange chance they even dropped into their laps.

Salam, interesting. However, my friend in Cairo tells me it's Tahrir Square giving orders to the army and not the other way round. No reason for me to disbelive him. But again, time will tell.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 19:21 #
  16. Anonymous

Imran ais a truly magnanimous personality. He even went to Mubashar Luqmans show when he had made fake show on PTI's relief activities in Muzaffargarh.

Khan talks to everyone but does his own.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 19:31 #
  17. skysurfer

this hate mongrel zaid hamid belongs to a psychiatric ward for a couple of years untill he gets a bit normal, which sure is a difficult task , and then be discharged to interact with the society. period

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 19:36 #
  18. Ignorance is a lasting disease. No cure for it.

The beauty of IK is he's NOT a politician as so many would like him to be. He's simply a visonary. Pakistan has had enough of politicians for now. We need the visionaries and the mystics now to come to the forefront.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 20:08 #
  19. scandinavian

@Mirza Ghalib

I have no personal grudge against Zaid H. I just believe that I can look through this fella. He is not being honest and is too obsessed with the army being an "Islamic" army. I never see him criticizing this monster.

IK has the solutions for my beloved country. Please have a look:

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 20:20 #
  20. azeemahmed

Mirza ji, you talk a lot of sense.

I may or may not agree with your views, but your sincerity and honesty is evident.

Zaid Hamid divides opinion, that’s for sure. He can galvanize you to the extent of getting up and doing something for a cause. He has the gift. This is not to say that I support everything and anything that he says or supports.

You are right that this nation needs visionaries and mystics, and I assure you that we are not short of them.

What we actually need are people who can transform their visions and ideas into reality. We need people who are determined enough to do the grunt work. Allama Iqbal had a vision. Quaid-e-Azam transformed it into a reality.

I may have great ideas about business (as many of my friends keep telling me) but I am not practical enough to see them through all stages. I get discouraged, irritated or bored very quickly. So my ‘great’ ideas are often rendered useless. Some people have great minds, and some have a great pair of hands. We need more of the latter.

Who will provide it? Of course, the ones who do this for every nation in every era. The Youth. The only problem is, our Youth, the major proportion of our nation, is a bit confused about their goals and their future. Media, politicians and self-styled intellectuals only aggravate this condition. Voices of sanity are few and far between. One piece of advice to them would be to be moderate, according to the advice of Hazrat Mohammad (peace be upon him). A cursory look on this forum (and others scattered around the cyberspace) tells you that our Youth keeps forgetting the principle of moderation while expressing their views.

Well, enough of the self-styled intellectual 'discourse'. I must stop myself now, or I will bite off the foot that I have stuck in my mouth. Telling people what to think is always a dangerous thing for mortals like yours truly.

P.S. On a personal note, why is the Urdu Script beyond you? Haven’t you been schooled in Urdu? If not, why did you choose the name of the one of the greatest poets in Urdu as your id? Hope you won’t mind my asking.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 21:37 #
  21. OK, Scandinavian, I took time off to listen to this longish video. IK was in excellent form and was given the time to elaborate on many things which he only mentions in passing on other channels. Look, I don't know where I get this certitude from, put it down to intuition, instinct, whatever, but I'm absolutely convinced he's going to be the next leader of Pakistan. I've said this many times before and I'm not going to be changing my mind on the matter anytime soon.

Regarding ZH, then, a good thing you hold no personal grudge against him. The rest of it is your interpretation of what he says and which you seem to find detestable. I, on the other hand, find he offers a perfectly balanced approach to where Pakistan should be heading. As for the army, I can eventually even understand hatred for the top brass. But to go on and condemn the entire army on those grounds is a pretty baffling thing in my eyes.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 21:39 #
  22. scandinavian

@MG sb

Never will I malign the whole army. I am sure the majority of the soldiers are as disturbed as the rest of us. In fact I believe that we should have a balanced approach towards the army i.e. the criticism should be balanced and not too harsh-after all the army is a double edged sword. On one hand the army has damaged Pakistan and on the other hand we cannot think of surviving without it.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 21:49 #
  23. Hello Azeemahmed, I had more or less despaired of finding even one person who would somehow or the other find something positive to say about Zaid Hamid. And then, wonder of wonders, I did. You yourself. For which much gratitude.

Pakistan is as a whole in a state of great convusion, some of it maintained by various forces absolutely deliberately. I think, though, about one thing many of our youth are absolutely clear: we cannot carry on the way we've been doing for the past so many years. We need tremendous change in this country and the catalyst for change can only be our own Imran Khan. Moderation our youth will pick up as they go along.

About your personal question. Urdu, no I was not schooled in the language so I cannot read or write it. But I speak Urdu so that is also enough to love our great poets. As to why Mirza Ghalib, our mystical lyricist, someone else chose the nick and I think the reason behind it was to say: Look others had their Shakespeare and Goethe and Pushkin and Hugo and Omar Khayum, etc. We need not envy them. Didn't we have our own genuises, foremost among them being Ghalib without whom we shouldn't have had an Iqbal either?

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 21:52 #
  24. Scandinavian, I wholly agree with you this time. We give them the benefit of the doubt for the moment. But when the right time comes, we shall certainly ask them to account for their actions.

Posted 12 months ago on 30 May 2011 21:55 #
  25. azeemahmed

@Mirza Ghalib

Well, positive is my middle name. It’s in my sun sign, moon sign and star sign (or perhaps I just refrain from passing judgments on events and people too often too soon).

Youth never picks up moderation, dear sir. It’s in the nature of the youth to be intense and exaggerating. Raging hormones, you know. Moderation has to be instilled in them, or rather, drilled in them. But don’t let them know that they are being instilled or drilled. You know what I mean?

I find Imran Khan quite close to my heart, even if I am not an overtly political person. I might even vote for him if he picks up someone remotely credible from our constituency as his party’s candidate. And I think he has a great team of professionals to convert his visions to reality. He is not a politician and we should not hold it against him. At least, he is honest and sincere. What does it matter if he is not very diplomatic and very articulate?

Confusion can be dissipated if you use your own head to think. The problem is all our lives we let other people to think and decide for us in most of the matters. Perhaps it is because we are afraid to take the responsibility that comes with making independent decisions. Or maybe we spend a lot more time in our teens than is biologically or humanly necessary. Arrested development, anyone?

We should not be dismayed if we don’t find straight thinkers in a majority here in Pakistan. These people are always in a minority, be it America, Europe or anywhere else in the world. Problem is when they too are carried away in the emotional currents of the moment.

Well, well, what do you know! An admirer of Ghalib who cannot read him but is able to understand him. And in this day and age of canned food, breakfast cereals and instant coffee. All is not lost, I guess.

Jeez, writing in a third language is tedious work. But expressing yourself is quite liberating. I think I should start working on my novel. What do you say? (wink!)

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 0:24 #
  26. hmm zahid hamid is one of those who will defend the army come wat may ... and id say this it seems he just teos their line even if he isnt on their payroll...

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 2:13 #
  27. So AA, sure, go ahead and write your novel. I for one should certainly be delighted to read it.

About youth and moderation, I think the former is a temporary state and the latter comes over time. Don't know about instilling and drilling. And by whom may I ask? A corrupt society, immature parents, indifferent teachers? The days of the venerated elders are long past. Today all we know by way of wisdom is: Sunno beta, jao zara dollar kama lo. That is the extent of parental love in today's Pakistan.

Anyway, I'm glad that along with many fellow bloggers, we share similar views on IK. The few honest people still remaining in this country are worth more than all the gold in the world. And they are the ones who will bring us back from the brink.

Straight thinkers, AA, who are these? Let us not give ourselves airs, any of us. We are victims of daily events and the sudden flood of information that follow them. And mainly we are at war which is the state of confusion par excellence. As for the west, they are in a state of economic prolapse, hysterical and an utter danger to the continued existence of the world itself. So straight thinkers, who and where? Apart from the Chinese,of course. They, of course, have always shown wisdom, as did the Muslims in the bygone days of their glory, a trace of which wisdom I also tend to find in the object of this thread, Zaid Hamid.

Now a personal question to you. What is this business about a third language? Urdu, Punjabi (or Sindh, etc.), English would it be? Does it liberate the way flexing long unused muscles do or did you mean something else?

@gunnerz30, thanks for acknowledging at least that ZH is not on the payroll of the army. As far as I know, he's on no one's payroll. Entirely his own man and at the service of the only person in whose service we should all be, namely our beloved Prophet (PBUH).

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 6:02 #
  28. @Mirza Ghalib,
    aap kehtay hain tou sach hi kehtay hon gaye.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 7:01 #
  29. choosy, that's a very generous concession you made to me there. Thank you so much. Though, truth to tell, I no doubt tend to talk as much nonsence as anyone else.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 12:34 #
  30. he he he
    mein buhat chota hoon,meri knowledge bhi aap se bhi choti hay aur aqal bhi.
    issi liye mein aap ki har baat maan jata hoon.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 12:36 #
  31. Come on, choosy, no false modesty, please. You are one of the wittiest among our bloggers. And the most tongue-in-cheek. I remember some of your "battles" with HK and the laughter that kept bubbling out of me as you both made your points, one with utter seriousness, the other with an unwavering smile.

Actually, choosy, I'm so glad you're back. Sometimes it gets very lonely on the blog nowadays with much of the older group no longer giving us the support they once used to. Oh, well, we'll get used to the new faces soon, I suppose.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 13:34 #
  32. @Mirza Ghalib,
    he he he

aap ne tou mera din bana diya ,itni tareef karkay.

Haris Khan buaht acha hay,uss se larai mein bhi aik piyar bhara maza hay .
    wohh jaldi jaldi ghussay mein aata hay na .

waisay wohh bhi shadi kay baad chup chup sa ho gaya hay.
    shayad Bhabi ne Pkpolitic ka time apnay naam kara liya.
    he he he

naye dost buhat achay hain, but i do miss old friends too.

Posted 12 months ago on 31 May 2011 14:03 #
  33. azeemahmed

@Mirza Ghalib

Whoa, whoa, whoa! Give me a break, yaar! I thought we were trying to generate new ideas by meaningful discussion or rather, trying to remember the forgotten principles of life. But you went on like you are writing this post before having your morning ‘fix’! That is not opinion, my man, that is a rant, if you don’t mind my saying so.

First off, about the ‘instilling and drilling’. Have you forgotten what Holy Prophet (PBUH) said that everyone of you is responsible for his/her children and shall be answerable about them. You said parents are immature. True, but not every parent or teacher (a surrogate parent) is immature and good children are brought up even today. You can be sure of that. I take the responsibility of my two daughters’ education (and by that I don’t mean the academic one) and upbringing. Aren’t you willing to do the same? And don’t do such gross generalizations about the parents in Pakistan. I have already said that good people are always in a minority, but they do exist in every age. That is true for every age, even the Holy Prophet’s (PBUH).

You ask about the straight thinkers. Do you want to tell me, in all earnestness, that you haven’t encountered even one straight thinker in your life? I know dozens. Do you want names and addresses? Send me an e-mail. But be warned: thinking straight is not always an all-encompassing trait. A person who thinks very straight in matters of business may have a very twisted point of view about emotional relationships. Some people are good at making plans, and some are good at carrying them out. The people who can think straight about everything and in every situation are rare and very precious.

And about the information overload. Bhai, it becomes an overload only when you permit it to be one. I have already advised to use your own head to think. Ever heard of Fredrick Forsyth? Once he advised the aspiring writers: read widely and wisely. Now do I have to draw up maps, diagrams and pop-up quizzes to tell you what it means? I am sure you know the difference between information and knowledge.

Nations as a whole are not wise but they do have their own values and ethics (you may say that ethics are universal, but that would be wrong). Chinese are wise, no doubt about that, (and the same can be said about the Japanese and Koreans), but that wisdom came to them over a period of millennia. Theirs is the oldest living civilization, you know. But they too can be so naïve about some things.

And lastly, the war, the great mind-boggler. Would you like to know that a common man like me, have experienced bomb-blasts – suicide and IED? Four times. Happened mere meters away from me and my family. I am not a soldier, a journalist or a bounty hunter. I am a common man who will not be mourned by anybody except a small circle of friends and family. I have heard the flutter of death’s wings ever so clearly. What should I do? Get confused? Get scared? Get mad at everyone and everything? Or choose a chin-up attitude, always determined, always defying, always fighting for me and mine. Whatever I do, the choice will always be mine. You have your own choices to make. (Sorry if that sounds melodramatic.)

Now to the more personal matters: English is a third language for me. I was born in a Punjabi family (a typical one), schooled in Urdu (government institutions all the way) and I am writing this post in English (don’t know if that seems confusing to you). About that ‘liberating’ bit, didn’t I say that expressing yourself is always liberating? And the nature of my job always requires me to use my brain in various ways, so no question of using the long-unused.

I am so happy you said that you would be delighted to read my novel (which will be published in a decade or two, I am not certain about that), but does it mean that you will be delighted to buy it? (I am not winking this time!)

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 1:23 #
  34. AA, a very good morning to you. BTW: no one is obliged to answer any posts they find objectionable, below their dignity or whatever. And sure, I was responding to your received wisdom through generalisations. I was not being personal at any point and, it goes without saying, no generalisation exists without its many exceptions.

To your novel, then. Sure, I'll buy it when it comes out. Nothing more dishearenting for a writer, budding or otherwise, to have books that don't sell. Onto that huge seller called Frederick Forsyth. Read widely, wisely, maybe so. But that's for the elite of the word. What of the general public, according to what principle should they be reading? We bloggers are a prvileged lot. We go through tons of printed matter, etc. daily to distil our daily poison. And even the most mediocre of us have chanced on some kind of a technique. No such luck for the man in the street. He's simply a victim of the written and spoken word.

Well, never mind all that. I'm so sorry you've had such near brushes with death in the shape of bomb blasts, IEDs and the suicide bombers. It must be the source of tremendous strength to know that in spite of it all, you're still around. I know you must have drawn the same conclusion as myself. There's some mission you must accomplish on Allah's behalf. May he enlighten you fully as to what it should be. Back to our original topic: It is exactly the feeling that Zaid Hamid has always given me. He has some mission to accomplish which is beyond the likes of the person I am. That is why I listen to him so attentively.

Many things we fail to agree upon, but I'm pleased we didn't need to argue about the Chinese as well.

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 7:28 #
  35. choosy, what did I say? Tongue-in-cheek as usual. And then all of a sudden philosophical as well. I'll remember that. Patience is the antidote to all our ills. Thanks, choosy.

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 8:19 #
  36. azeemahmed

@Mirza Ghalib

We are not arguing bro. We are discussing – having an exchange of ideas. And none of what you said was below my dignity. If that damned term ‘rant’ put you off, then I am sorry. And if my clumsy attempts at humor annoyed you in anyway, then I am doubly sorry.

All wisdom for us mortals is received wisdom. Original wisdom belongs to Allah and He reveals it only to his Prophets.

You don’t have to be sorry about my brushes. Instead, be glad. Otherwise, you would have been less one supporter.

Contrary to the popular belief, I don’t read much printed matter. Rather, I like to read what isn’t usually printed. And believe me, there is a whole lot more unprinted matter than the printed one.

As for the common man in street, it’s the responsibility of the people like you and me to help him find his feet. Some people are given the gift of tongue. When they speak, others listen. Some people are given the gift of pen. When they write, others read. And some people are given the gift of deed. When they do, people follow. Everyone should recognize their strengths and use them to help others.

Sure, we all have a mission to accomplish. The fortunate ones realize and recognize it in time. If I recognize what gifts and talents are bestowed upon me by God, then I might know of what service can I be to Him. (Don’t ask whether I know my talents or gifts, I may not choose to answer.) Zaid Hamid’s mission should not be beyond you; he explains it often enough.

Hope I don’t sound uppity and condescending. I hate being like that.

BTW, thanks for promising to buy my novel. That means that I will sell one copy more than my last one.

P.S. Please do explain what do you mean by ‘the elite of the world’?

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 11:55 #
  37. AA, Excellent, then we won't need to bring up those points again about dignity and rant and whatever. We'll agree to differ when need be, agree to sharing similar viewpoints when need be, and take nothing, but nothing personally. That after all is the secret of blogging. It is all deadly serious and none of it is in any way personal.

The "elite of the world"? Those who are or who believe they are equipped to tell the wise from the superficial. More often than not these are people who've gone through universities and believe they are educated. Whether they really are or are simply labouring under an illusion is left upto them to determine. Much of the time, one's real education begins then when one realises much of what one has learnt was mere brainwashing and the whole process needs to be started again from scratch.

Thank you for that para on the common man. Everything there I could only endorse. Also, may I add from my own point of view: Let us not patronise our common man. He has as much to teach us as we him or perhaps even more so. We were born with the gift of humility. Where did we misplace it as the years were added to our age?

And now, please tell me AA where, according to you do we stand on this first day of June which has brought us the sad news of Saleem Shahzad's assassination, the downing of one of our helicopters and God knows what else before night takes over. Where do we turn to for hope? Whom do we turn to for forgiveness for our multiple sins of negligence? ZH gives us some answers. What would be yours?

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 14:05 #
  38. Salam, If you're around, this is for you. An excerpt from an article in The Independent about the Rafah Crossing.

But there is also a signal that the opening of the Rafah crossing does not send. In the past, the functioning of the crossing was a barometer for the state of the peace process between Israel and the Palestinians. It was first opened amid the optimism that accompanied Israel's 2005 withdrawal from Gaza, and it was closed for fear that Hamas and its supporters would bring in weapons. This latest opening is different. It is the first time this border has been opened without Israel's express say-so.

As such, it is a gauge less of the peace process – which is moribund – than of the wider geopolitics and the repercussions of the Arab uprisings. It was the interim government of post-Mubarak Egypt which decided to open the border, for reasons largely of its own self-interest. Politically, Egypt is looking ahead to elections, and opening the border will be popular with a voting public sympathetic to the Palestinian cause. Even though the border will remain closed to trade for the time being, the increase in traffic is expected to boost the frail economies on either side.

At the same time, the opening of theborder sends a clear message to Israel: that, while Cairo will keep its promise to uphold bilateral treaties, it will no longer permit Israel to dictate its policy towards the Palestinians. The opening of the Rafah crossing was always going to be opposed by Israel, which is used to dictating its terms and has serious qualms about the recent changes in the region. But – tellingly perhaps – it has not acted to stop it.

And while the possible implications of the Arab Spring may alarm Israel, there is reason to take a more measured view. With co-operation from Israel and support from outside, security in the West Bank has improved in recent years, even as the situation in Gaza has worsened. If there is to be a Palestinian state worthy of the name, it must, at a very minimum, have its own borders and be able to enjoy normal economic relations with its neighbours.

The opening of the Rafah crossing can be seen as a trial run for the sort of responsible security that a future state of Palestine will need if it is to take its rightful place in the region. For years, Israel has tried to set the terms and the pace for Palestinian statehood. But it has moved too slowly and is now being overtaken by events. In opening the Rafah crossing with Gaza, Egypt has underlined the truth of the new reality to which Israel will have little choice but to adapt.

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 14:50 #
  39. azeemahmed

@Mirza Ghalib

Well, those are universal rules for a standard discussion. Blogging I don’t know about. I have never done it.

I didn’t realize that you used the phrase ‘elite of the world’ in that sense. I have never gone through a university (or college for that matter) and I have never seriously tried to educate myself academically. Maybe that means that I escaped the brainwashing. Pure stroke of luck.

I am not the one to philosophize or patronize. When I said that we should help the common man, I meant to tell him what he doesn’t know. It doesn’t imply that you can’t learn anything from him. Whatever I have learnt in life is the courtesy of the very same, the common man in the street. If I did sound patronizing, perhaps it was because I am not a very humble person.

Children are the most self-centered beings in the world. I don’t know whether we should say that they possess humility. But maybe I am interpreting it incorrectly.

And now about your question. You are talking about a long line of incidents that are enough to make a sensitive person a wreck, full of nerves and regrets. It’s not about Salim Shehzad or Khrotabad incident or Abbotabad catastrophe or PNS Mehran disaster. You can trace a succession of such events right from the beginning.

In my opinion, (and maybe I am being too simplistic) dwelling on them won’t get us anywhere. Let’s just hope that some lessons have been learnt. I am a firm believer that God has a plan and whatever happens, serves a purpose in His plan.

You want forgiveness. God forgives, but remember, you also have to atone. Is our nation ready to atone? I think it is. But it needs a leader to realize that they need to compensate for their misdeeds. I sincerely hope and pray that the leader appears when we are still strong and willing enough to offer service.

Sorry, I can’t match the answers of Zaid Hamid. The man is pro and I am not even an amateur.

P.S. You will have to forgive me if don’t remain ‘deadly serious’ all the time. Remember, I am not a blogger, and never will be.

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 16:20 #
  40. toamin

Thanks Mirza Ghalib for sharing the Independent excerpt, analysis logically disconnects it from the "piece (intentional) process" and connects it with egypt revolution, may be this is the case, but then I know general omer sulayman and his words that he uses for muslims, is he still in charge, same military generals ruling the people?

Posted 12 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 16:51 #
  41. AA, thanks indeed. Great answer you gave there. I am grateful. BTW: the deadly seriousness of the blogger has nothing to do with his mood or character. I simply meant serious bloggers give what they are going to say a lot of thought, read up as many things as possible on any given interest to him or to her and then when they do put forward an opinion, thar's when their seriousness starts. They'll lay down their lives for what they think to be the truth unless of course something else does come up to make them change their mind. For no intellectual honesty, then no serious blogger. And you say you're not one, then doubly welcome to the club. We grow jaded and probably set in our ways as we go along. Come and join us on any and every thread. And give us the benefit of fresh insight into the matters of the day. And if you never become a real blogger, so much the better. If you did come onto PKP, there must have been a reason for it. I hope you will find whatever you were in quest of.

Salam, that pun was superb. I thought Sulayman was out. But Tantawi is still there. And still the words of my Egyptian friend ring in my ears: Tahrir Square decides what's next and the army takes orders from them. Perhaps he was simply daydreaming, though he's not quite that sort. And if he's not, then how marvellous. Can you imagine us in Pakistan dictating what to do to the establishment? That would be the day really.

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 18:41 #
  42. azeemahmed

@ Mirza Ghalib

Well, what can I say except that thanks for placing so huge a trust in me on the basis of less than half-a-dozen posts.

Should I take this as a collective invitation?

I will do my best. I hope the trolls don’t get in the way too often.

I have been visiting PKP for over a year but hadn’t taken part in any discussion until now. I visited numerous other similar forums, assimilated the opinions and sentiments of countless bloggers/posters (and impostors), and bided my time until I felt that the time is right to express a view or two of my own. I wouldn’t call it jumping in the fray because I try to avoid all kinds of frays as much as possible. And I am not terribly fond of giving an opinion about each and every thing in the known universe. I am old enough and (I hope) wise enough to keep my peace in the matters that are beyond my comprehension for the moment. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t try to find out truth. I have my own devices and I daresay they are quite effective. That’s why I rarely get confused about the issues of my people. (I told you I am not a humble person!)

I totally agree with your definition of being serious. One should not pick up a gauntlet if one is not willing to go all the way. One should have the courage of one’s convictions, if I may be excused for using a clichéd phrase. But at the same time one should not be quick to pass judgments of people and matters. Sadly that is what’s happening in our mass media on a regular basis. But I guess that’s the nature of the beast.

What am I looking for? I am looking for people who are willing to give this country what it needs. I have found some, and I am sure that I will find many more.

A personal aside: Have you ever met Zaid Hamid? A ‘distant’ friend of mine works with him (at least I think that he’s still with him) and another friend of mine has published his books. A few years back, that distant friend of mine offered to arrange a meeting between us. Zaid Hamid was not a very well-known name then and I was totally unaware of his work. Both parties agreed. But the day set for our meeting was the day God chose to take my mother away. I never had another opportunity to meet him and, strangely, never had any desire to see him in person. God works in strange ways, no?

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 19:26 #
  43. azeemahmed

P.S. While talking about atonement, I forgot to mention the recent examples of the nations that have gone through this process. China has atoned. Japan has atoned. Germany has atoned. I need not mention where they stand today. From what I hear, Russia too is going through atonement and is determined to get back on top.

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 19:28 #
  44. azeemahmed, Thank you. You know, not that many posts are required to make up one's mind about somebody. And the answer to your question is definitely yes. Take my words as a collective invitation. I'm so glad you've accepted to give us all a fair try. For my part, let me say this: Even if you are quite new to the whole thing, you are an excellent, nay a born blogger with new, intelligent and healthy ideas. In fact you sound like a seer. Of course, you, like us all, are a human being with the full complement of human failings and startling qualities. So, thank you for letting in a gust of fresh wind through this blog. The others here will also appreciate your ideas and values. And if some of them act up, pay no heed whatsoever. It takes all sorts.

No, I've never met Zaid Hamid. But I never met Allama Iqbal or the Quaid-e-Azam for that matter. However, the ideas and visionary depth of all three have been more than enough to bring me over to their side and accept their vision of the world as valid. Your story of your aborted meeting was extremely strange. But the day you really need to see him, no doubt the occasion will arise.

Also, your PS on atonement cannot be faulted. It gave depth and direction to a notion which might otherwise have been taken as nothing but an abstraction.

See you later.

Posted 11 months ago on 01 Jun 2011 22:55 #
  45. azeemahmed

@Mirza Ghailb.

Para # 1 part 1 = Thanks. I seek God's refugee from an inflated ego.

Para # 1 part 2 = Agreed. I think I can handle trolls but I have seen so many good people wasting so much of their time and energy on getting provoked and responding heatedly to these creatures. One should be on guard against that.

Para # 2 = I have said as much in an earlier post. Whatever happens serves a purpose in God's plan. And the Buddhists say: When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.

I wish you were familiar with Urdu script. You should read Qudrutullah Shahab.

Perhaps I should record some of its parts and send them to you in Audio format.

Let's start a thread in which we may discuss the history of great nations. Those who rose, declined and then rose again and those who rose, declined but didn't rise again; what were the reasons for either scenario and what were the circumstances. Maybe we can make our fellows realize that dreaming about past and future glories would take them only so far, unless they are willing to bend their backs in a concerted effort towards defying gravity.

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 2:26 #
  46. Good idea for a thread there, azeemahmed. Let me think it over. I'll PM (no not prime minister as Admin joked recently)you as soon as I can make some suggestions and we'll take it from there. You do the same if you already have some idea how you want to go about it. If we manage to convince our fellows about anything whatsoever, that, too, will be in defiance of gravity. But one never knows. Anyway, it will refresh our memories about some important moments in history.

Don't worry about my reading Qudrutullah Shahab. I have Urdu-medium people at home who are not illiterate as I turned out to be. I'll get them to give me a hand.

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 10:38 #
  47. toamin

Thanks Mirza Ghalib, I let you two continue with the good work and I keep my negativity away for a while :)

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 11:17 #
  48. Hello Salam, I'm glad I get to catch you here. This morning's news has nothing good to say about the Rafah Crossing. Apparently, Hamas is not happy about how it's being managed. Which might well mean that your idea of it all being only a PR ploy might be the right one. Salam, I tell you, there are days when I think does anyone ever tell the truth. Or is the entire world only in the business of staying alive simply to propagate more and more lies.

Thanks for good wishes for the projected thread. Salam, you've never been the most negative of our bloggers here. Inshallah, you'll remain that way.

Posted 11 months ago on 02 Jun 2011 11:33 #