Zardari's Five Years Plan To Survive

(19 posts)
  1. It looks that President Zardari is winning on all the sectors to perpetuate his tenure as President for five years (or might be more).
    All of the phases of his plan are going to his favor so far.

Phase # 1. To engage the opposition at the Issue of Restoration of Chief Justice.
    Phase # 2. To divert the attention towards Power, Water and Sugar shortage.
    Phase # 3. To defuse the energy of the critics on Kerry-Luger Bill Debate.
    Phase # 4. The strategy about the By-elections.
    Phase # 5. Drone Attacks Issue.
    Phase # 6. A gradual advance towards 18th Amendment and the debate over Khyber Pakhtoonkhawa Issue.

What is next in his bag, could be more exciting.

It is interesting to learn how, apparently, an inexperienced and politically 'stupid looking' person, is playing like a smart and shrewd politician?

A well organized and well coordinated propaganda about his corrupt nature and background is also, not making any damage to his political status.
    The predictions about his fall, from Media and political pundits, so far, look as fake.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Mar 2010 15:30 #
  2. zingaro

After a long time I saw your post Janab Javed Sahib .. But it really disappointed me as I was not expecting such weak analysis from your good self.

Do you really think that whatever you pointed is what Zardari intentionally wanted to play with? Is it not that he in fact had no option but to opt for all these things otherwise he could be kicked out quite earlier. But at the same time, it has been added on the liability side of his balance sheet. Day by day his liabilities are increasing and if a strong action came from the Judiciary side, he might be declared insolvent.

In my humble opinion he can not be given credit for the points you mentioned but he is indebted of this heavy loss against his company's policies. Politics is a merciless game and the players in it are always keen to take a chance against the opponents. Sometimes they intentionally provide space to their opponents to reach to the edge and then a mild jolt will throw him out of the boat.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Mar 2010 17:30 #
  3. I think Javed Sheikh is pretty much on target. Zardari tries to keep the issues alive as long as he can so that debate keeps on raging and time passes by. He compromises only when it becomes unavoidable.

There is no conscious effort to solve any problems. It is just a time passing strategy.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Mar 2010 17:54 #
  4. Dear Zingaro,

My post is not to support or oppose Mr. Zardari as President.
    I was the first to request and suggest him not to sit in the President House (but behave like Sonia Gandhi) as head of the PPP.
    I just expressed my analysis about ground reality.
    There is nothing final in politics.
    The chess-board changes with each and every move of the players.
    I don't accept Mr. Zardari as a Leader, but as a Politician, he has secured a half century without hitting sixes and fours.
    Would he be able to complete the century, it is yet to watch.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Mar 2010 18:28 #
  5. skunkk

i think it is a great analysis, the first time we heard tha t18th amendment would pass in March was right after restoration of judges, similarly the news that PCO Iftikhar would not be restored until PCO Dogar retires also appeared in paper after PMLN left the cabinet. So far so good.

@zingaro: after three months half the problems will become a provincial subjects, Prime Minister and not the President will have the real power, the PPP vote bank is more united then ever before. Judiciary may or may not be biased but there is not a single person in media apart from GEO and Qazi Anwar to defend it. Zardari has played well, the only phase that is left is the final revision of power costs, ending of subsidies and power crises which has been prolonged due to water shortage in Tarbela. That can be played up by the army to dislodge him. Rest seems to be a smoother road than thought before.

ps: Bechara Shahid Masood, aaj March ka maheena bhi khatam hogay, ab agli dead line kab ki hogi?!

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Mar 2010 20:52 #
  6. A politician creates a situation and inflates a problem.

A politician who defuses and solves the problem, emerges as a Leader.

President Zardari and PM Gilani are progressing much steadily according to the available resources.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Mar 2010 21:54 #
  7. Fahim23

People were predicting the end of this government from the time of "Bhurban Declaration". But so far they have been wrong. On the contrary this government has made some serious and significant headways to curb crisis such as:

1. War on Terror
    ================

Swat recovered, FATA partially stabilised, and reduction in the number of terrorist exploding every day killing innocent people. Furthermore, after a long time majority of Pakistanis (except JI and PTI) are on the same page of ridding this menace of Extremism.

2. Balochistan Issue
    ====================

The politically motivated cases from Baloch political leaders were withdrawn, and the prisoners released. Still much needs to be done in the case of "Missing persons", but about 400 people are recovered in this government. A comprehensive Balochistan Package announced, Gawadar port handed over to Provinvcial assembly of Balochistan, for the first time Balochistan preferred in NFC award and just today some concessions in the Constitutional package for smaller provinces.

3. NFC Award
    ============

After a long pause of 19 years, NFC was awarded with the consensus of all four provincial governments.

4. Energy Crisis
    ================

A pressing issue not only for the government but for the state of Pakistan. Government hasn't been able to deliver yet but some steps are taken, eg., IPPs, RPPs, 32 small dams, construction of Bhasha dam, Electricity from Iran, Iran-Pakistan Gas line, Renewable energy systems installed in Jhampir, Sindh. On the basis of these steps taken, one can assume that in the coming days things are going to get some better.

5. Cleansing of Constitution
    ============================

Indeed a historic moment for Pakistan. Though in Pakistan it is not really over when it is really over, but having watched today's signing off ceremony for 18th Amendment, it is safe to claim that the "dungs" induced by Military dictators are finally cleansed and the consensus constitution of 1973 is restored.

Further, this government has also dealt effectively with the aftermaths of Lal-Masjid terrorists (from both sides), Bombay Blasts, Kerry-Luger Bill, * Judicial Crisis etc.

President Zardari was also criticised for

1. Not boycotting the Elections after Assassination of BB.
    2. Extended the hand of friendship and reconcilliation with all political parties especially MQM - One of the wisest decision IMO of President Zardari.
    3. For appointing Yusuf Raza Gillani as PM.
    4. For choosing for himself to be President not PM - another wise decision.

I think that if this government is allowed to complete its tenure, President Zardari will be remembered as one of the historic and most successful president of Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 4:12 #
  8. yah koi appreciate karnay ki baat nahin.
    kay mulk ko torr kay ,mulk kay logon ko pareeshan and kangla karkay apnay iqtidaar ko lamba karna .
    aur iss pe taliyan bajana .

Rome was burning and Nero was playing flute .

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:08 #
  9. LalBichoo

Fahim23,

Good effort to highlight some good work done by present govt. !

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:12 #
  10. سامان سو برس کا ہے اور پل کی خبر نہیں

Suppose zardari can surivive for hundred years

but he can't escape from his death

ہر زی روح نے موت کا ذائقہ چکھنا ہے
    موت زندگی کی تلخ حقیحت ہے

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:14 #
  11. Zardari 's tactics can not be seen as tactics .
    rather bad failure on ground ...
    he was not voted for being just there for the 5 years .

he and his party was voted for the same Roti ,Kapra Makaan he is snatching from ppl and denying their rights .

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 6:40 #
  12. Fahim23

@Beena

Please elaborate - "bad failure on ground ..."?

On what ground do you mean?

True he and PPP is not voted just to stay in power for 5 years. They are voted to deliver relief to people in given circumstances. In my opinion, now at least there is a hope that Pakistan is going to come out of WoT, Constitution mess is almost cleaned, concerns of smaller provinces and areas like Balochistan, FATA, Gilgit Baltistan, are addressed, Economy is in +ve zone now (growth in agriculture and industrial sector), and political situation is relatively stabilized (unless you watch Dr. SM and his co-host Shaheen sehbai).

You seem to have different views from what I've posted in my last post specifically on War on Terror, NFC award, Balochistan issue, Energy crisis and constitution. Care to present ur arguments?

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 8:51 #
  13. @Fahim ,
    i can tell u point wise about their failure;
    where they say ;
    Awam ki hukumat ,awam kay liye .
    awam and their own interest always clashing .
    and they are going for their own interest.

war on terror ;
    they are following US policy given by US to Mush and they are just taking it forward .
    so if there is a success ,its a success of US not the success of PPPP Govt.

flour & sugar crisis;
    flour and sugar crisis was not as bad in Mush era .
    PPP govt being a feudal lords govt is taking full advantages of flour and sugar crisis ,rather making it available on a cheaper price for a common man .
    this is what u call a success for a party who was keep chanting about Roti ,Kapra and makan?

Bijli crisis;
    Iran is ready to give us power on a cheaper rate .
    but again our Govt is not ready to see public interest ,in front of their own interest .
    they are interested in some outdated rental power plants ...

foreign relations;
    Mush has made Pakistan all alone ,as he has gone with US too far ...a political Govt like PPP was expected to act wisely ,but unfortunately ,its again following the foot steps of dictator and licking the boots of USA.
    gape between Iran and China with Pakistan is getting widened ,every day .

Bad Governance

if Govt is just the name of sitting in lavish palaces ,enjoying protocol and free tickets ...
    then Govt of PPP is just doing fine .
    otherwise law and order is going bad .
    police is out of control .
    doctors and lawyers are out of control.
    religious extremists are out of control.
    inflation is out of control.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 9:22 #
  14. skunkk

@Beenai:

here's the answer to most of your responses:

war on terror: present government may have continue the same policy but the public opinion on the matter is with PPP. All polls have indicated so and the backlash against Shahbaz should also give you an idea.

flour & sugar crises: as soon as the crises started the media was up in arms against PPP, all columnists reminded us that half of the sugar mills were owned by Zardari alone. As it turned out it was utter nonsense. The President house issued a statement denying ownership of sugar mills and GEO/Jang failed to present a shred of evidence to the contrary. It is now known that most of flour and sugar mills are owned by PML-Q members and N members. The PPP members are no where amongst the top mill owners.

Bijli: Iran is ready to give us electricity at cheap rates? Now the fact that Iran made such a statement so blatantly in media raises eye brows it self. Iran may be muslim and all but like all other muslim nations it is selfish and hypocritical. The statement was made right before the start of Pak-US strategic dialogue. Pakistan has already demonstrated reasonable attitude by signing the far important pipeline agreement. I'm sure as soon as the clouds of international politics over Iran clear out Pakistan will request a proposal. And I am equally certain that Iran will deny the request.

Foreign Policy: If foreign policy is to be compared from Mush era, I'm sorry but during Mush era it was a one way traffic from Pakistan to China and India. We were giving away everything without getting anything in return. Same was true for US.

This time China and US both have been asked to do tangible steps. If China chooses not to do so, than it should not call itself our friend.

On other matters:

Law and order, religious extremism etc all spiral down to the fact that in the Army golden rule every institution of this country crumbled to nothing. While privatization may have boosted GDP growth rate it did not increase literacy, health care facilities, police etc Things will take time to settle, but the PCO Iftikhar who gave 3 years to the dictator is leading anti-democratic forces to destabilise the government at all costs.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Apr 2010 16:19 #
  15. @skunk,
    war on terror is a project ,owned ,thought , planned and financed by USA .and nothing but USA .so success credit (if there is any)goes to US ,not to any one else .

2.whether flour and sugar mills are owned by Zardari or Nawaz .it doesn't matter for the public .
    head of the state and ruling party is responsible to tackle the situation.if your allay is holding back flour and sugar stocks ,who is going to talk to them ,and make it released on a affordable price for the public ?

3.if the rental plants are 2 number and over used ,why our Govt is dying to buy them on a higher costs ?
    is there no any other alternate ?
    if not Iran than rusted plants ...?????

4. US is keep ordering 'do more' its a two way thing ?
    US Sec of state Hall broke and Hillary Clinton being rude and rash and commanding to us ...
    is that what u call equal grounds ...????
    China has been badly put off by the ignorance by Pakistan in the regional crisis and Pakistani steps there on.
    we all know for a fact ,China does not and never wants US to enter into the region.

5.law and order can be measured through the frequency of bomb blasts per week in major cities .

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 8:36 #
  16. skunkk

1: War on terror may be choreographed by the US but the very existence of Taliban and bomb blasts and targeting by Taliban in the cities of Pakistan was a reality long before 9/11.
    Question: Do you want Taliban rule? Do you have resources to fight it out alone? What choices army had during its own rule were not bequeathed to the civilians. May I remind you that the Taliban ideology would forbid you being a woman to be literate. Today most Pakistanis agree that US or not Taliban need to be eliminated from Pakistan and Afganistan both.

2: Indeed it is the responsibility of government to provide sugar, flour and other stuff at reasonable rates. But that changed substantially during the army rule. The flour, sugar and other edible crops became fully privatized. Prior to 1999, government held substantial holding which changed after privatization. The crises was not as bad because of two reasons:

a. the global boom is over and there is a global rise in
    the prices of goods,
    b. if army refuses to stop fully loaded trucks of wheat
    from crossing into Afghanistan, there is little that
    the civilian government can do at this moment.

3. The rental power projects was evaluated by world bank after the hue and cry raised in the Pakistani media. The media highlighted only one part where by the reports discredit such projects. What media did not point out was the fact that 1200 MW of projects should be installed at the earliest possible notice regardless the demerits.

Is there an alternative? In short term I'm not certain but media or other experts would have pointed it out by now. Pakistan is trying to buy electricity from Tajikistan but I think Afghanistan has issues. As for Iran, Iran is an international pariah, standing along its side might seem appealing but we need to be practical. Especially when Iran is very practical and always supports India.

4. The US attitude is very different from what it was two years back. If I remember correctly two years back it was Musharraf that US officials use to call their strategic partner not Pakistan. That has changed. If you have failed to find the difference in the way the current government has been dealing with US as opposed to the previous one, I think you are blinded by your hatred for the current setup.

In plain words, China can go to hell. Yes it has presented Pakistan with some landmark projects but it also exports 7 Billion dollars of poor quality goods to Pakistan where as Pakistan just gets to send 1 Billion dollar of goods. This is under a free trade agreement under which most of the goods on the lists are not even manufactured in Pakistan.

5. Law and order can indeed be measured by the frequency of blasts. True, Sindh and Balochistan have been way more peaceful then they were under the dictator. The two blast during Ashura and Chehlum were the first since the one that happened at the arrival of Benazir. Balochistan has not been marred by blast as before. I'n sure the blasts in Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab will also decrease in number and strength if we continue to route out taliban.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Apr 2010 21:13 #
  17. zingaro

@ Javed Sahib .. you are right that you wrote a letter to Mr. Zardari to abstain to become President... but did any body took a small notice of your letter .. NOT.

You are right that games changes with every move but you know sometimes one team does not want to out a player because then a good player may replace him. A weak player can score singles but will eventually earn defeat for his team in a ONE DAY match ....

@Fahim & Skunk ... forgive me dears but believe me things have turned quite worst. Don't you know that corruption rates in Islamabad? How many problems are being faced by the public and you are saying the road is smoother? Putting blames on Army, other politicians does not change the life of a common man.

Just check the appointments done on the orders of President House and yet you claim transparency? Why Ahmed Riaz is sent to Jail. I was surprised that no body took notice that a civil servant is saying he was with Zardari and will remain with him. This fake dr. babar awan, Farooq Nayek, Rental Raja, etc are all those who were successful in buttering Zardari .. Just tell me one thing .. Why Shoaib Siddle was appointed as Tax Ombudsmen? What was the reason to award him such a position .. What he had served ?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 15:28 #
  18. skunkk

Funny you should bring Ahmed Riaz, the conviction of Ahmed Riaz caused Ali Ahmed Kurd, Tariq Mahmood and even Hamid Khan's heads to be hung down in shame. They were speechless!

Ahmed Riaz had already served the sentence , he had none the less appealed to get the stain of conviction removed. Supreme Court served notice on him less than 24 hours notice. Moreover when he did appear in front of Court, the court scolded his lawyer Rasheed A Rizvi as to why was he defending him. The court refused to hear anything and sent him to jail despite the fact that his term had been completed violating the Constitutional right of double jeopardy and right to defend oneself in court.

Ahmed Riaz was sent to jail because he is Zardari's man, for that reason only and none other.

Talking of appointments what merit was being followed in the previous rule of the glorious army? Every single institution was ruined to the hilt. Every university, embassy and state owned institution were filled with blood sucking uniformed parasites.

The army's appointments on merit had Durrani, Wasi Zafar, Niazi, Ijaz ul Haq, Sherpao, Jamali and the kohinoor of all Sheikh Rasheed.

I'll tell you why Shoaib Suddle is a tax ombudsman, it is because he is Zardari's right hand man, and will be posted at a place where he can be useful to the government in professional capacity or otherwise.

If you think you can directly jump to Swiss meritocracy you are mistaken. The government has already rehabilitated DGM and other bureaucratic wings. This government may have 10,20 or even 50 percent of its people at important posts but the previous one had almost all such post occupied by uniformed men or their pet dogs. In fact where it was not able to post them it often created additional posts to accommodate the generals.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Apr 2010 16:46 #
  19. zingaro

@skunk .. are you trying to say that because Musharraf did so and so hence Zardari has right to do so and so?

I am a common man of Pakistan and has right to question anyone who claims to be a leader. i always criticized Musharraf and have same merit for Zardari, NS, Altaf, etc. I am not a mentally slave person that I should favor one just for the opposition of other. I am a Pakistani and my loyalty is with my country. Forget about legal procedures but don't we know all that Ahmed Riaz or his big boss Zardari are corrupt? Why is it that when one party and their leaders are criticized then they try to cry on other parties.

I wish and pray that there should be a death sentence for the corrupt people. That is the only way to lead Pakistan on the way of progress and prosperity.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Apr 2010 10:01 #